World Wide Race

future of production | Industrie 4.0 in Europe, Asia, USA

Germany is not the only place where companies and researchers are wondering about the future of industry. “Everywhere in the world policymakers and businesses are facing the same issues,” reports Professor Jürgen Jasperneite of the Institute of Industrial Information Technology at the Ostwestfalen-Lippe University of Applied Sciences and of the Fraunhofer Application Center for Industrial Automation in Lemgo. “The focus in on increasing digitization and its impact on production processes and industries.” It therefore comes as no surprise that governments and companies elsewhere have launched research programs along similar lines.

Everyone is agreed on the objective: the manufacturing of the future should be efficient, environmentally friendly, and highly customizable – these are also the central goals of the German Industry 4.0 project. Individual countries have different starting positions, however, which have an impact on the main focuses of their research programs. Whereas Germany is traditionally seen as the “world’s supplier” and therefore relies heavily on its extensive know-how from individual industries, the USA has the reputation of the “world’s networker” and places a stronger emphasis on the IT aspects of the topic. This is also illustrated by the name and the member companies of the Industrial Internet Consortium, which is the US counterpart of the Industry 4.0 initiative in Germany.

Experts believe that the individual initiatives will apply similar basic technologies – such as the internet of things as the platform for the networking of sensors, products, and systems. It is very likely that many countries will make a contribution to the production of the future. To this end, basic standards need to be defined so as to enable machines to communicate with one another, for instance. “We want to be the leading market and leading supplier of the production technology of the future,” stresses Professor Wolfgang Wahlster, CEO of the German Center for Artificial Intelligence, with sites in Saarbrücken, Kaiserslautern, Bremen, and Berlin. “Other countries are also set to benefit, because Industry 4.0 allows them to raise their production to a new level.”

 

USA: Industrial Internet Consortium

The Industrial Internet Consortium (IIC) was established in the USA in March 2014. It comprises more than 100 companies, including General Electric, IBM, Intel, AT&T, and Cisco, all working on technologies for the production of the future – with German heavyweights such as Siemens and Bosch among them, too. Since many IT specialists are involved in the IIC, one of the focal points is on the internet of things and the interlinking of the factories of the future. The IIC’s vision is largely consistent with the goals of Industry 4.0: to make production more efficient and to optimize value chains. In addition, the companies are striving for higher machine availability and the cost-effective manufacture of customized products.

 

Europe: Initiatives at EU and national level

Alongside Germany’s Industry 4.0 project the EU and individual countries across the continent have set up their own activities aimed at preparing for the production of the future. At European level, Industry 4.0: Powering Europe, a German-led high-impact initiative, has been launched at the ICT Labs of the European Institute of Innovation & Technology (EIT). Its aim is to bring about a rollout of cyber-physical platforms across European smart factories. There is also the Factories of the Future public–private partnership aimed at supporting mainly small and mid-size companies in their efforts to stay successful in global markets in the future. Individual countries are also active: Finland intends to spend some €100 million on its Industrial Internet program by 2019, whilst Austria plans to inject around €250 million into its vision of Industry 4.0. France, the UK, and the Netherlands have likewise launched their own initiatives.

 

Asia: Core technology catch-up

The Chinese government is seeking to develop intelligent production systems on the basis of ubiquitous information and communication systems under its Advanced Manufacturing Technology Roadmap, which extends as far as 2050 and defines milestones for the years 2020 and 2030. It is the country’s aim in core production technologies – such as in the automotive industry – to be less dependent on imports. This is also reflected in the current five-year plan, which designates advanced manufacturing equipment as a field of especially high priority. The activities of other countries such as Japan or South Korea are less well known. The many visits by delegations to Germany demonstrate, however, that there is huge interest in this topic in those countries as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

World Wide Wettlauf

Zukunft der Produktion | Industrie 4.0 in Europa, Asien, USA

Natürlich ist Deutschland nicht der einzige Standort, an dem sich Unternehmen und Forscher Gedanken über die Zukunft der Industrie machen. „Überall auf der Welt stellt man sich in Politik und Wirtschaft die gleichen Fragen“, berichtet Professor Jürgen Jasperneite vom Institut für industrielle Informationstechnik an der Hochschule Ostwestfalen-Lippe und dem Lemgoer Fraunhofer-Anwendungszentrum Industrial Automation. „Im Mittelpunkt steht die zunehmende Digitalisierung und ihre Auswirkungen auf Produktionsprozesse und Industrien.“ Kein Wunder also, dass auch anderswo Regierungen und Unternehmen einschlägige Forschungsprogramme gestartet haben.

In der Zielsetzung sind sich alle einig: Die Produktion der Zukunft soll effizient, umweltschonend und hochgradig individualisierbar sein – das sind auch die zentralen Anliegen des deutschen Projektes „Industrie 4.0“. Allerdings haben die einzelnen Länder unterschiedliche Ausgangspositionen, die einen Einfluss auf die Schwerpunkte ihrer Forschungsprogramme haben. Während Deutschland als traditioneller „Ausrüster der Welt“ gilt und darum stark auf sein umfassendes Know-how aus einzelnen Branchen setzt, haben die USA den Ruf als „Vernetzer der Welt“ und betonen stärker die IT-Aspekte des Themas. Das zeigt sich auch am Namen und an den Mitgliedsunternehmen des „Industrial Internet Consortiums“, das das US-Gegenstück zur Initiative Industrie 4.0 in Deutschland ist.

Experten glauben, dass die einzelnen Initiativen auf ähnlichen Basistechnologien aufsetzen werden – zum Beispiel auf dem Internet der Dinge als Plattform für die Vernetzung von Sensoren, Produkten und Anlagen. Und es ist durchaus wahrscheinlich, dass viele Länder einen Beitrag zur Produktion der Zukunft leisten werden. Dazu müssen aber grundlegende Standards definiert werden, um beispielsweise die Kommunikation von Maschinen untereinander zu ermöglichen. „Wir wollen Leitmarkt und Leitanbieter für die Produktionstechnik der Zukunft werden“, betont Professor Wolfgang Wahlster, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung des Deutschen Zentrums für Künstliche Intelligenz in Saarbrücken, Kaiserslautern, Bremen und Berlin. „Davon werden auch andere Länder profitieren, weil sie durch Industrie 4.0 ihre Produktion auf ein neues Niveau heben können.“

 

USA: Industrial Internet Consortium

In den USA hat sich im März 2014 das Industrial Internet Consortium (IIC) gegründet, in dem mehr als 100 Unternehmen wie General Electric, IBM, Intel, AT&T und Cisco an Technologien für die Produktion der Zukunft arbeiten – unter ihnen auch deutsche Schwergewichte wie Siemens und Bosch. Da viele IT-Spezialisten am IIC beteiligt sind, liegt einer der Schwerpunkte auf dem Internet der Dinge und der Vernetzung der künftigen Fabriken. Die Vision des IIC deckt sich weitgehend mit den Zielen von Industrie 4.0: Die Produktion soll effizienter und Wertschöpfungsketten sollen optimiert werden, darüber hinaus streben die Unternehmen eine höhere Verfügbarkeit von Maschinen und die wirtschaftliche Herstellung individualisierter Produkte an.

 

Europa: Initiativen auf EU- und Länderebene

Neben dem deutschen Projekt „Industrie 4.0“ haben die EU und einzelne Länder des Kontinents eigene Aktivitäten ins Leben gerufen, um die Produktion der Zukunft vorzubereiten. Auf europäischer Ebene ist in den ICT Labs des European Institute of Innovation & Technology (EIT) eine „High Impact Initiative“ mit dem Namen „Industrie 4.0: Powering Europe“ unter deutscher Leitung gestartet, die einen Rollout cyber-physischer Plattformen in europäischen Smart Factories zum Ziel hat. Daneben gibt es die Öffentlich-private Partnerschaft „Factories of the Future“, die vor allem kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen dabei unterstützen will, auf den Weltmärkten auch künftig erfolgreich zu sein. Einzelne Länder sind ebenfalls aktiv: Finnland will für sein „Industrial Internet Program“ bis 2019 rund 100 Millionen Euro ausgeben, Österreich für seine Version von Industrie 4.0 etwa 250 Millionen. Auch Frankreich, Großbritannien und die Niederlande haben eigene Initiativen gestartet.

 

Asien: Aufholjagd bei Kerntechnologien

Die chinesische Regierung will intelligente Produktionssysteme auf der Basis allgegenwärtiger Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme aufbauen – das sieht ihre „Advanced Manufacturing Technology Roadmap“ vor, die bis ins Jahr 2050 reicht und Meilensteine für die Jahre 2020 und 2030 definiert. Ziel des Landes ist es, bei Kerntechnologien für die Produktion – beispielsweise in der Automobilbranche – weniger abhängig von Importen zu werden. Das spiegelt sich auch im aktuellen Fünfjahresplan wider, in dem „Advanced Manufacturing Equipment“ zu den Tätigkeitsfeldern mit besonders hoher Priorität zählt. Wenig bekannt ist über die Aktivitäten anderer Länder wie beispielsweise Japan oder Südkorea. Der Besuch zahlreicher Delegationen in Deutschland zeigt aber, dass das Interesse an diesem Thema auch dort sehr groß ist.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.