Steer-by-wire: thyssenkrupp steers innovative path in development

Automotive-sector | mobility of the future | Steer-by-wire is on the verge of a breakthrough in production vehicles. In terms of its impact and the possibilities it opens up, the innovative technology can be described as nothing short of revolutionary. All the more so because thyssenkrupp has opted for a unique development approach.

It’s not only in connection with highly automated or even completely autonomous driving that steer-by-wire (SbW) is set to play a central role in the future. Using electrical signals to transmit steering inputs offers a wide range of possibilities in other areas as well. For example, the absence of a mechanical link between steering wheel and steered wheels allows previously undreamed-of freedom in vehicle design. Numerous vehicle types and layouts can be created on one and the same platform. Whether front left, right or center, or theoretically even from the back seat: the position from which the vehicle is steered is completely immaterial. Steer-by-wire technology allows practically every conceivable configuration. And perhaps also one or two others that are still unthinkable today.

After numerous decisive development advances in the recent past, the steering revolution is on the verge of a breakthrough in production cars. So far, the only production vehicles to feature this technology are the Infiniti Q50 sedan, launched in 2013, and the Infiniti Q60 coupe derived from it (2016). However, they cannot be considered pure steer-by-wire vehicles because they have a mechanical fallback system. The first production models relying exclusively on steer-by-wire are expected from 2023. Initially, they will probably not be produced by traditional OEMs but by start-ups and other newcomers to the automotive industry. According to conservative estimates, there will be around one million steer-by-wire vehicles on the roads worldwide by 2030.

thyssenkrupp going its own way in hardware and high-level and low-level software

The central issues with steer-by-wire are undoubtedly safety and steering feel. Both will contribute to the acceptance of this technology by OEMs and customers and accelerate the breakthrough. The way a car steers and the feedback it provides on road conditions and vehicle dynamics are key characteristics. For vehicle manufacturers, they are distinguishing features of “their” brand. The details are therefore of particular importance. An OEM’s own individual steering DNA must be replicated as perfectly as possible by a steer-by-wire system.

Due to the absence of a mechanical link between the wheels and the steering wheel, the required torque must first be calculated and then reproduced at the steering wheel. To define the required torque, various sensor values are used. Several other variables must also be estimated through calculation. “In this so-called high-level software area, we are pursuing a slightly different approach than most of our competitors,” explains Kristof Polmans, SVP Research and Advanced Engineering at thyssenkrupp’s steering division. “We’re focusing less on transmitting road-wheel forces directly to the steering wheel and more on calculating torque levels at the steering wheel independently on the basis of other values, and thus generating road feedback indirectly. That means we achieve a robust steering feel with a great deal of tuning freedom. Nevertheless, we still generate the road feedback the customer needs.”

thyssenkrupp is also pursuing a new, individual approach in the area of low-level software, i.e. actuating the required torque. It is directly related to the hardware layout and only possible with an integrated system solution. “Our thinking was: if we’re developing a completely new technology, it’s best to start with a completely blank sheet of paper,” says Polmans. So instead of building steer-by-wire technology on top of the existing infrastructure of conventional electronic power steering systems like the majority of competitors, thyssenkrupp made its mechanical solution completely independent of the existing infrastructure. For example, there is no worm gear mechanism in thyssenkrupp’s steer-by-wire solution. That would have required a torque sensor as a control instance. The large variations in friction in various areas due to manufacturing tolerances in mass production, and the unavoidable mechanical wear result in the need for a closed control loop. “Instead of this classic feedback control approach where the measured values have to be continuously rechecked, we use feedforward control,” says Polmans. “Thanks to the elimination of unnecessary electrical components and thanks to our own high- and low-level software approach, our system is more stable, more robust as well as less prone to errors and quality problems in mass production.”

Vehicle Motion Control as means of redundancy

For OEMs and vehicle manufacturers, steering systems are an integral part of a higher-level system. At thyssenkrupp, steer-by-wire is part of Vehicle Motion Control (VMC). Instead of concentrating solely on the steering domain, thyssenkrupp always looks at overall vehicle dynamics. This also has an impact on the issue of redundancy. Instead of securing functions with mechanical solutions or system duplications, thyssenkrupp uses existing components of other vehicle systems. In this way, “alternative steering functions” can be achieved, for example using the brakes, the powertrain or the components of an active chassis, all-wheel or rear-wheel steering system or active stabilizers. This integrated approach not only provides a space- and cost-saving solution, above all it solves various safety-related challenges and ensures higher availability.

Modular Research Platform as one of the keys to success

The development progress achieved in the recent past in the areas of steer-by-wire and Vehicle Motion Control can be attributed in large part to an additional development tool that thyssenkrupp has been using successfully for several years: the Modular Research Platform (MRP). The traditional development and test sequence used in the automotive sector, consisting of simulation, test rig work and road tests with a specific model or vehicle type, has various disadvantages. For example, there is not always a clear correlation between the results obtained from simulations and those from test rig work. In road tests with a specific model there is no flexibility or modularity. These disadvantages are eliminated by thyssenkrupp’s Modular Research Platform, which can recreate any kind of chassis architecture – without any restrictions in terms of packaging space or the like. The advantages it can offer in steer-by-wire development work have not gone unnoticed: thyssenkrupp is currently building three more MRPs – two of them under contracts from customers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Steer-by-Wire: thyssenkrupp schlägt innovativen Weg in der Entwicklung ein

Automotive-Sektor | Mobilität der Zukunft | Steer-by-Wire steht unmittelbar vor dem Durchbruch zum Serieneinsatz. Die innovative Technologie kann wegen ihrer Auswirkungen und den sich daraus ergebenden Möglichkeiten als geradezu revolutionär bezeichnet werden. Umso mehr, weil sich thyssenkrupp für einen ganz eigenen Entwicklungsansatz entschieden hat.

Nicht nur im Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung des hochautomatisierten oder sogar komplett autonomen Fahrens spielt Steer-by-Wire (SbW) eine zentrale Rolle. Auch in anderen Bereichen bietet das Übertragen der Lenkimpulse rein über elektrische Signale vielfältige Möglichkeiten. So erlaubt die fehlende mechanische Verbindung zwischen Lenkrad und gelenkten Rädern bislang ungeahnte Freiheiten im Fahrzeugdesign. Auf ein und derselben Plattform können zahlreiche Fahrzeuggattungen und -layouts entstehen. Ob vorn links oder rechts, exakt in der Fahrzeugmitte oder theoretisch sogar von der Rückbank: Die Frage, von welcher Position aus das Fahrzeug gelenkt wird, ist dabei vollkommen unerheblich. Die Steer-by-Wire-Technologie erlaubt praktisch jede denkbare Konstellation. Und vielleicht auch die ein oder andere heute noch undenkbare.

Nach zahlreichen entscheidenden Entwicklungsfortschritten in der jüngeren Vergangenheit steht die Revolution des Lenkens kurz vor dem Durchbruch zum Serieneinsatz. Bislang einzige Serienfahrzeuge mit dieser Technologie sind die 2013 vorgestellte Limousine Infiniti Q50 und das davon abgeleitete Coupé Infiniti Q60 (seit 2016). Als reine Steer-by-Wire-Fahrzeuge können sie dabei allerdings nicht gelten. Denn sie verfügen über eine mechanische Rückfallebene. Die ersten Serienmodelle, die ausschließlich auf Steer-by-Wire vertrauen, werden voraussichtlich ab 2023 folgen. Produziert werden sie zunächst wahrscheinlich nicht von klassischen OEMs. Sondern von Start-ups und anderen „Quereinsteigern“ in die Automobilindustrie. Laut vorsichtigen Schätzungen werden bis 2030 weltweit rund eine Million Steer-by-Wire-Fahrzeuge auf den Straßen unterwegs sein.

thyssenkrupp geht eigenen Weg bei Hardware sowie High-Level- und Low-Level-Software

Die zentralen Themen bei Steer-by-Wire sind zweifellos die Sicherheit und das Lenkgefühl. Beide tragen zur Akzeptanz dieser Technologie auf Seiten der OEMs und Kunden bei und beschleunigen den Durchbruch. Die Art und Weise, wie ein Auto lenkt und welche Rückmeldung zu Straßen- und dynamischem Fahrzeugzustand eine Lenkung vermittelt sind ihre wesentlichen Charakteristika. Und zählen für Fahrzeughersteller zu den Unterscheidungsmerkmalen „ihrer“ Marke. Der Detailarbeit fällt somit besondere Bedeutung zu. Denn es gilt die sehr individuelle sogenannte Lenkungs-DNA eines OEM so perfekt wie möglich mit einem Steer-by-Wire-System abzubilden.

Wegen der fehlenden mechanischen Verbindung zwischen den Rädern und dem Lenkrad muss das Soll-Moment somit zunächst berechnet und anschließend am Lenkrad dargestellt werden. Zur Definition des Soll-Moments werden verschiedene Sensorwerte genutzt. Einige andere Größen müssen zusätzlich über eine Berechnung abgeschätzt werden. „In diesem sogenannten High-Level-Software-Bereich gehen wir bereits einen etwas anderen Weg als die meisten unserer Mitbewerber“, erklärt Kristof Polmans, SVP Research and Advanced Engineering bei der Lenkungssparte von thyssenkrupp. „Wir legen den Fokus weniger darauf, die auf die Räder wirkenden Kräfte direkt ans Lenkrad weiterzuleiten. Sondern stärker darauf, die Momente am Lenkrad auf Basis anderer Werte unabhängig zu berechnen und somit das Straßenfeedback nur indirekt zu generieren. Damit erreichen wir ein robustes Lenkgefühl mit sehr viel Tuning-Freiheit. Gleichzeitig bilden wir trotzdem die notwendigen Straßenrückmeldungen ab, die der Kunde braucht.“

Auch im Bereich der Low-Level-Software, also dem Stellen des Soll-Moments, geht thyssenkrupp einen neuen, individuellen Weg. Dies hängt unmittelbar mit dem Hardware-Layout zusammen und wird nur durch diese Gesamtsystemlösung ermöglicht. „Unsere Überlegung war: Wenn wir schon eine völlig neue Technologie entwickeln, sollten wir am besten mit einem komplett weißen Blatt Papier beginnen“, so Polmans. Statt also wie die Mehrheit der Wettbewerber die Steer-by-Wire-Technologie auf die bestehende Infrastruktur konventioneller elektronischer Lenkunterstützungssysteme aufzusetzen, machte thyssenkrupp seine mechanische Lösung komplett unabhängig davon. Somit findet sich in der Steer-by-Wire-Lösung von thyssenkrupp beispielsweise kein Schneckenrad-Getriebe. Das müsste einen Momenten-Sensor als Kontrollinstanz zur Seite gestellt bekommen. Denn die inkonstante Reibung, die auf Fertigungstoleranzen in der Massenfertigung zurückzuführenden großen Schwankungen in verschiedenen Bereichen sowie der unvermeidbare mechanische Verschleiß resultieren in der Notwendigkeit eines geschlossenen Regelkreises. „Statt dieses klassischen Feedback-Regelungsansatzes, bei dem die ermittelten Werte kontinuierlich nochmals kontrolliert werden müssen, setzen wir auf eine Feedforward-Regelung“, verdeutlicht Polmans. „Unser System erweist sich durch den Verzicht auf unnötige elektrische Komponenten sowie dank unseres eigenen High- und Low-Level-Software-Ansatzes als stabiler, robuster sowie weniger anfällig für Fehler und Qualitätsprobleme in der Massenfertigung.“

Vehicle Motion Control als Mittel der Redundanz

Lenksysteme sind für OEM und Fahrzeughersteller ein integrativer Bestandteil eines übergeordneten Systems. Steer-by-Wire ist deshalb bei thyssenkrupp Teil der Vehicle Motion Control (VMC). Statt nur die Domäne Lenkung im Auge zu haben, gilt der Blick somit stets dem fahrdynamischen Gesamtkonzept. Das wirkt sich nicht zuletzt auch auf das Thema Redundanz aus. Statt Funktionen mit mechanischen Lösungen oder Systemdoppelungen abzusichern, nutzt thyssenkrupp ohnehin vorhandene Komponenten anderer Fahrzeugsysteme. So lassen sich clever „alternative Lenkfunktionen“ erzielen. Genutzt werden dazu beispielsweise die Bremsen, der Antriebsstrang sowie die Komponenten eines aktiven Fahrwerks, einer Allrad- beziehungsweise Hinterradlenkung oder auch aktive Stabilisatoren. Dieser ganzheitliche Systemansatz von thyssenkrupp ermöglicht nicht nur eine platz- und kostensparendere Lösung. Sondern vor allem auch eine, die verschiedene sicherheitsrelevante Herausforderungen löst und eine höhere Verfügbarkeit gewährleistet.

Modular Research Platform als eines der Erfolgsgeheimnisse

Die in der jüngeren Vergangenheit erzielten Entwicklungsfortschritte in den Bereichen Steer-by-Wire und Vehicle Motion Control lassen sich zu einem Großteil auch auf ein zusätzliches Entwicklungstool zurückführen, das thyssenkrupp seit einigen Jahren erfolgreich einsetzt: die Modular Research Platform (MRP). Die im Automotive-Bereich traditionelle Entwicklungs- und Testabfolge aus Simulation, Prüfstandarbeit sowie Fahrversuchen mit einem spezifischen Modell oder einer spezifischen Fahrzeuggattung birgt verschiedene Nachteile in sich. So besteht zwischen den aus Simulationen und aus der Prüfstandarbeit gewonnenen Ergebnissen eine nicht immer eindeutige Korrelation. Bei Fahrversuchen mit einem spezifischen Modell fehlen Flexibilität und Modularität. Diese eliminiert die Modular Research Platform von thyssenkrupp, weil mit ihr sämtliche Chassis-Architekturen möglich sind – gänzlich ohne jedwede Einschränkungen in puncto Bauraum oder ähnlichem. Die Vorteile, die sich damit auch in der Entwicklungsarbeit für Steer-by-Wire erzielen lassen, blieben nicht verborgen: Aktuell baut thyssenkrupp drei weitere MRPs – zwei davon im Kundenauftrag.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.