Do profiles on social media help or hinder applications?

Career at thyssenkrupp | How can I use social media when applying for jobs? And should I do so at all?

While in some countries personal social media profiles are already seen as a common way to hone your applicant profile and communicate an impression of your personality, it has (to date) been less common for the social media presence of applicants to be taken into account in Germany. You do not have to be active on platforms like Facebook, Instagram or LinkedIn to join thyssenkrupp. However, if you are, your social media profile is well maintained and you want to use it actively as a communication tool, here are a few tips:

Showcase your strengths

You travel a lot, are a passionate chess player or analyze the stock market in your free time? Perfect. You’re good at math, languages or IT? Even better. Communicate your strengths and interests – in the form of posts, comments and virtual resumes. For example, use Facebook, Twitter and Instagram to post relevant content or XING to publicize your specialist qualifications.

Network

The more you network with other users, the easier you will be to find on the World Wide Web. Keep making new contacts – professional and private – and connect with people from all over the world. LinkedIn and Xing offer you a fabulous opportunity to connect with users from a wide variety of sectors and functions in a professional environment. And soon perhaps even with a potential employer.

Attract attention

Always keep your status entries and profile information up-to-date and publish interesting articles, comment on relevant posts, follow friends, colleagues and personalities on Twitter, get active in the community, e.g. in a Facebook group discussion. In short: Stay on the ball. It’s the only way to ensure your network doesn’t lose touch with you.

Please find more information on our global career site

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related articels

together
Career at thyssenkrupp | Corporate culture | People at thyssenkrupp | thyssenkrupp worldwide | Thinking about Germany, the Oktoberfest, our Autobahn and a certain stiffness come to most people’s minds. Many international colleagues get to experience working for thyssenkrupp in Germany. They had different reasons to come to Germany - but all of them enhance our team. We asked a few colleagues working here, what else they got to know about their new home – and which stereotypes about Germans have proven to be correct.
together
Apprenticeship at thyssenkrupp | Career at thyssenkrupp | Corporate culture | People at thyssenkrupp | thyssenkrupp worldwide | In the first year of the thyssenkrupp’s new training center, 30 to 35 apprentices will learn everything there is to know about their future technical careers. What is particularly important to the managers is the balance between theoretical basics and practical experience. The project is set to significantly expand over the next three years.

Social Media-Profile und Bewerbung: Wir geben Tipps

Karriere bei thyssenkrupp | Wie kann ich soziale Medien im Bewerbungsprozess nutzen? Und sollte ich überhaupt?

Während der persönliche Social Media auftritt in einigen Ländern bereits als gängiges Instrument angesehen wird, das eigene Profil zu schärfen und einen Eindruck von der sich selbst als Persönlichkeit zu vermitteln, wird die  Social Media Präsenz in Deutschland als Bewerbungsinstrument (bisher) weniger stark beachtet. Sie müssen auch nicht auf Plattformen wie Facebook, Instagram oder LinkedIn sein, um bei thyssenkrupp einzusteigen. Wenn Sie jedoch dort aktiv sind, ihr Social Media Auftritt gepflegt ist und Sie ihn aktiv als Kommunikationsinstrument bei der Bewerbung einsetzen wollen, geben wir Ihnen hier einige Tipps:

Zeigen Sie ihre Stärken!

Sie reisen viel, spielen leidenschaftlich gerne Schach oder analysieren in Ihrer Freizeit die Börse? Perfekt! Sie haben ein Faible für Mathe, Sprachen oder IT? Umso besser! Tragen Sie Ihre Stärken und Interessen nach außen – in Form von Posts, Kommentaren und virtuellen Lebensläufen. Nutzen Sie hierzu beispielsweise Facebook, Twitter und Instagram, um relevante Inhalte zu posten oder XING, um Ihre fachlichen Qualifikationen an die Öffentlichkeit zu bringen.

Netzwerken Sie!

Je mehr Sie sich mit anderen Nutzern vernetzen, desto auffindbarer sind Sie im World Wide Web! Knüpfen Sie immer wieder Kontakte – professionelle wie private – und stellen Sie so Verbindungen zu Menschen auf der ganzen Welt her. LinkedIn und Xing bieten Ihnen die fabelhafte Möglichkeit, in einem professionellen Umfeld mit Nutzern aus den verschiedensten Branchen und Funktionen in Verbindung zu treten. Vielleicht schon bald mit einem potenziellen Arbeitgeber.

Ziehen Sie die Blicke auf sich!

Halten Sie Ihre Statuseinträge und Profilinformationen  up to date und veröffentlichen Sie interessante Beiträge, kommentieren Sie relevante Posts, folgen Sie Freunden, Kollegen und Persönlichkeiten auf Twitter, und bringen Sie sich aktiv in die Gemeinschaft ein, z. B. bei einer Facebook-Gruppendiskussion. Kurzum: Bleiben Sie am Ball! Denn nur so verliert Sie Ihr Netzwerk nicht aus den Augen.

Noch mehr Tipps rund um das Thema Bewerbung und Karriere finden Sie auf thyssenkrupp.com/karriere

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Verwandte Artikel

together
Ausbildung bei thyssenkrupp | Karriere bei thyssenkrupp | Menschen bei thyssenkrupp | thyssenkrupp weltweit | Unternehmenskultur | Zwischen 30 und 35 Auszubildende sollen im ersten Jahr des thyssenkrupp Ausbildungszentrums alles lernen, was es über ihre zukünftigen technischen Berufe zu wissen gibt. Wichtig ist den Leitern vor allem die Balance zwischen theoretischen Grundlagen und praktischer Erfahrung. Das Projekt soll in den nächsten drei Jahren noch deutlich größer werden.
together
Menschen bei thyssenkrupp | Unternehmen | Unternehmenskultur | Bei diesem Lauf ging es nicht um persönliche Bestzeiten, den Wettkampf oder den Gesamtsieg. Beim Essen City Trail führte die Laufstrecke die Teilnehmer an den bekanntesten Bauten der Stadt vorbei, durch ein Kino, das Colosseum und eine Waschstraße. Natürlich wollten da auch unsere Kollegen unbedingt mit dabei sein. Start und Ziel war das thyssenkrupp-Quartier.