CO2 as a raw material

Sustainability and climate protection | Climate gas to move cars

thyssenkrupp is launching the first cross-industry initiative to utilize carbon dioxide from steel mill gases. Its aim is to exploit steel mill gases as the starting material in the production of chemicals. The PLANCK project is contributing not only to climate protection but also to the success of the switch to sustainable energy.

Carbon dioxide has a terrible image. Discharged into the atmosphere in large volumes, this greenhouse gas is fueling global warming and becoming a climate killer. In Germany alone industrial chimneys, cars, and households emit some 900 million tons of CO2 every year. Yet carbon dioxide is far from being just something that harms the climate – the gas can also serve as a valuable raw material in the chemical industry.

The idea for the project came to thyssenkrupp’s Chief Technology Officer Reinhold Achatz during a lecture. His colleagues at thyssenkrupp Process Technologies had presented the fundamental possibility of synthesizing ammonia and methanol from steel mill gases – ammonia is used in the production of fertilizers and methanol in fuel production, among other things. The chemical industry currently utilizes natural gas as the raw material. A proportion of the hydrogen required for synthesis is already contained in the steel mill gases. Why not, wondered Achatz, produce the extra hydrogen required from surplus electricity generated from renewable energies? This would reduce the consumption of natural gas, a valuable energy source, cut CO2 emissions, and stabilize the power grid. The research project aims to develop technologies which make this economically feasible.

From this unconventional idea following preparatory work with the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion (MPI CEC) the content of the PLANCK project was defined. In the “Platform for Sustainable Chemical Conversion” thyssenkrupp started working with partners from industry and research from December 2013, who since then have been promoting the first cross-industry approach aimed at the use of CO2 in chemicals production. The central idea: A cross-industry solution with utility providers and additional technology companies on board promises better results than the isolated efforts to reduce CO2 emissions that have been pursued to date. If the technology transfer project, which is scheduled to last ten years, becomes a success, the key steel, chemical, and energy industries will interlink their value chains in future – jointly saving valuable raw materials and reducing CO2 emissions.

“The prospects for success are good because the basic chemical processes and the required technologies are largely known,” says project manager Markus Oles. Yet the goal is ambitious: Thanks to PLANCK it is hoped that one day almost all CO2 emissions from steel production can be transformed chemically. Until then, however, the researchers and developers still have a few challenges to overcome. For example, the steel mill gases first need to be cleaned and prepared – a research task on which the MPI CEC and the Fraunhofer Institute for Environmental, Safety, and Energy Technology (UMSICHT) are working.

The greatest challenge, however, comes from carbon dioxide itself: chemically CO2 is extremely inert. The chemists therefore need catalysts if the gas is to react with other substances to form new compounds such as methanol or methane – and large quantities of energy. The catalysts facilitate the chemical reaction by reducing the required activation energy without being consumed themselves. The MPI CEC is developing special catalysts that can respond flexibly to the sharply fluctuating supply of green electricity.

Without electrical energy PLANCK cannot reach its ambitious target. “If the plan is to completely convert the CO2 contained in steel mill gases, this will not work without additional hydrogen,” explains Ralph Kleinschmidt, technical head of department at thyssenkrupp. This hydrogen is intended to come from water electrolysis using wind and solar power, which is why thyssenkrupp and the Duisburg-based Center for Fuel Cell technology (ZBT) are working on new economical methods for producing the gas. Because the electricity comes from completely renewable sources, PLANCK’s carbon footprint would remain exemplary.

Moreover, the researchers can kill two birds with one stone: Instead of converting green electricity that is no longer needed into hydrogen and producing electricity from it again later on, surplus production from renewable sources could ideally flow directly into the production of base chemicals. That is the aim – and one of the great benefits of the project. If this grid optimization succeeds with the help of the utility providers, PLANCK could through the stabilization of power grids make a substantial contribution to the success of the switch to sustainable energy.

The conversion of steel mill gases into fuels and fertilizers may still seem a distant dream right now – yet the developers intend to gather initial operating experience in a realistic steel mill environment as early as 2015. Tests will then be conducted for two to five years on how the newly developed techniques are proving effective in practice. Initial pilot and test facilities should be put into operation in seven years’ time, and commercial implementation with an investment volume of over €1 billion is planned from 2022. If the project proves a success, PLANCK could usher in a sustainable structural change in Germany’s key industries through an intelligent network of value chains. The project would then not only help reduce CO2 emissions and save resources but also safeguard jobs and make the Germany more sustainable as an industrial location.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rohstoff CO2

Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz | Klimagas soll Autos antreiben

thyssenkrupp bringt die erste branchenübergreifende Initiative zur Nutzung von Kohlendioxid aus Hüttengasen auf den Weg. Ihr Ziel ist es, Stahl in Zukunft nahezu ohne CO2-Emissionen zu produzieren und Hüttengase als Ausgangsstoff für die Chemieproduktion zu nutzen. Das Projekt PLANCK leistet nicht nur einen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz, sondern auch zum Gelingen der Energiewende.

Kohlendioxid hat ein miserables Image. In großen Mengen in die Atmosphäre entlassen, heizt das Treibhausgas die Erderwärmung an und wird zum Klimakiller. Allein aus Deutschlands Industrieschloten, Autos und Haushalten steigen jedes Jahr rund 900 Millionen Tonnen CO2 auf. Dennoch ist Kohlendioxid keineswegs nur ein übler Klimaschädling – das Gas kann auch als wertvoller Rohstoff für die Chemieindustrie nützlich sein.

Die Idee zu dem Projekt kam thyssenkrupp-Technologiechef Reinhold Achatz bei einem Vortrag. Seine Kollegen von thyssenkrupp Process Technologies hatten die grundsätzliche Möglichkeit vorgestellt, Ammoniak und Methanol aus Hüttengasen zu synthetisieren – aus Ammoniak entstehen Düngemittel, Methanol wird unter anderem für die Produktion von Kraftstoffen eingesetzt. Heute nutzt die Chemieindustrie dafür Erdgas als Rohstoff. Ein Teil des für die Synthese benötigten Wasserstoffs ist in den Hüttengasen bereits enthalten. Damit wird der Verbrauch des knappen Energieträgers Erdgas verringert, die CO2-Emission reduziert und das Netz stabilisiert. Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist es, Technologien zu entwickeln, die dies wirtschaftlich umsetzbar machen.

Aus der unkonventionellen Idee wurden nach Vorarbeiten mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für Chemische Energiekonversion (MPI CEC) die Inhalte des Projekts PLANCK definiert. In der „Plattform für Nachhaltige Chemische Konversion“ arbeitet thyssenkrupp seit Dezember 2013 mit Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung zusammen, die seitdem den ersten industrieübergreifenden Ansatz zur CO2-Nutzung für die Chemieproduktion vorantreiben. Der Kerngedanke: Eine branchenübergreifende Lösung mit Bayer, BASF, Siemens und RWE an Bord verspricht bessere Ergebnisse als die bislang verfolgten isolierten Bemühungen zur CO2-Reduktion. Wenn das auf zehn Jahre angelegte Technologietransfer-Projekt ein Erfolg wird, verzahnen die Schlüsselindustrien Stahl, Chemie und Energie künftig ihre Wertschöpfungsketten – und können so gemeinsam wertvolle Rohstoffe einsparen und CO2-Emissionen vermeiden.

„Die Erfolgsaussichten sind gut“, sagt der Projektverantwortliche Markus Oles. „Denn die grundlegenden chemischen Abläufe und die benötigten Technologien sind weitestgehend bekannt.“ Dennoch ist das Ziel ehrgeizig: Stahlwerke sollen durch PLANCK eines Tages nahezu vollständig ohne klimaschädliche CO2-Emissionen produzieren. Bis es soweit ist, haben die Forscher und Entwickler allerdings noch einige Herausforderungen zu bewältigen. So muss etwa das Hüttengas zunächst gereinigt und aufbereitet werden – eine Forschungsaufgabe, an der das MPI CEC und das Fraunhofer-Institut für Umwelt-, Sicherheits- und Energietechnik (Umsicht) arbeiten.

Die größte Herausforderung kommt jedoch vom Kohlendioxid selbst: CO2 ist chemisch äußerst träge. Darum benötigen die Chemiker Katalysatoren, wenn das Gas mit anderen Stoffen zu neuen Verbindungen wie Methanol oder Methan reagieren soll – und eine große Menge Energie. Die Katalysatoren ermöglichen die chemische Reaktion, indem sie die dafür unverzichtbare Aktivierungsenergie verringern, ohne selbst verbraucht zu werden. Das MPI CEC entwickelt spezielle Katalysatoren, die flexibel auf das stark schwankende Öko-Strom-Angebot reagieren können.

Denn ohne elektrische Energie kann PLANCK sein ehrgeiziges Ziel nicht erreichen. „Will man das im Hüttengas enthaltene CO2 vollständig umwandeln, geht das nicht ohne zusätzlichen Wasserstoff“, erläutert Ralph Kleinschmidt, technischer Abteilungsleiter bei thyssenkrupp. Und der soll aus der Wasser-Elektrolyse mit Hilfe von Wind- und Sonnenstrom stammen, weshalb Siemens und das Zentrum für Brennstoffzellentechnik (ZBT) in Duisburg an neuen wirtschaftlichen Verfahren zur Herstellung des Gases arbeiten. Weil der Strom aus vollständig regenerativen Quellen stammt, bleibt die CO2-Bilanz von PLANCK makellos.

Außerdem können die Forscher so zwei Fliegen mit einer Klappe schlagen: Statt nicht benötigten Ökostrom in Wasserstoff zu verwandeln und später daraus wieder Strom zu produzieren, könnte die gesamte deutsche Überschussproduktion aus grünen Quellen im Idealfall direkt in die chemische Grundstoffproduktion fließen. Das ist das Ziel – und einer der großen Vorteile des Projekts. Denn wenn diese Netzoptimierung mithilfe des Projektpartners RWE gelingt, könnte PLANCK über eine Stabilisierung der Stromnetze zugleich einen erheblichen Beitrag zum Gelingen der Energiewende leisten.

Die Umwandlung von Hüttengasen in Kraftstoffe und Düngemittel mag heute noch wie ein ferner Traum erscheinen – doch die Entwickler wollen bereits 2015 erste Betriebserfahrungen im realen Hüttenumfeld sammeln. Zwei bis fünf Jahre lang soll dann getestet werden, wie sich die neu entwickelten Verfahren in der Praxis bewähren. Erste Pilot- und Testanlagen dürften in sieben Jahren an den Start gehen, und die kommerzielle Umsetzung mit einem Investitionsvolumen von mehr als einer Milliarde Euro ist ab 2022 geplant. Wird das Projekt ein Erfolg, könnte PLANCK über ein intelligentes Netzwerk aus Wertschöpfungsketten einen nachhaltigen Strukturwandel in Deutschlands Schlüsselindustrien einleiten. Das Projekt würde dann nicht nur zur CO2-Reduktion und Ressourcenschonung beitragen, sondern auch Arbeitsplätze sichern und den gesamten Industriestandort Deutschland nachhaltiger machen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.