#roadtripsweden: Everyday Legends – Road to Sweden

Automotive-sector | Engineering | mobility of the future | People at thyssenkrupp | We love and live cars – from development to endurance testing. That is why we are off to face a very special challenge: we test our own engineering skills on a road trip. Under extreme conditions. The destination? Arvidsjaur, North Sweden – 4.400 kilometers of asphalt, rain, cold and ice. At the steering wheel? Our employees, who master all challenges on the way together as a team.

Rustic accommodations, cold temperatures and action-packed days. For us, these are the prerequisites for an unforgettable road trip with thyssenkrupp Bilstein, one of the leading suppliers and development partners for the global automotive industry.

Within the scope of the “Bilstein Legends“, our employees, together with well-known automotive professionals such as Darren Hardesty or the RB Drift Brothers, will face this very special challenge. During the trip, our automotive products will have to withstand the ultimate endurance test on Swedish ice.

Elias Hountondji and Joe Hountondji are the current vice and European champions in the individual classification and European champions in the team classification for drifting. Both of the brothers' cars are equipped with BILSTEIN suspensions. As
Elias Hountondji and Joe Hountondji are the current vice and European champions in the individual classification and European champions in the team classification for drifting. Both of the brothers' cars are equipped with BILSTEIN suspensions. As "BILSTEIN Legends" they regularly test our products under the toughest conditions.
Anton Marklund is a Swedish racing driver who won the FIA European Rallycross Championship in 2017. The 25-year-old is regarded as one of the world's greatest rallycross talents. He tests our BILSTEIN dampers under extreme conditions.
Anton Marklund is a Swedish racing driver who won the FIA European Rallycross Championship in 2017. The 25-year-old is regarded as one of the world's greatest rallycross talents. He tests our BILSTEIN dampers under extreme conditions.

From the desk to the steering wheel

Bilstein employees from all over Germany were able to apply for this very special adventure. 18 of them made it – ranging from trainees to managers. Together, the team has to master a variety of challenges on its way to Sweden.

4.400 kilometers from Bochum to Arvidsjaur

The adventure started on March 17 in Bochum. Now, an entire crew is on their way to northern Sweden, driving 2.200 kilometers per track. During the three stages of the journey, our employees have to solve a wide variety of tasks. So much can be revealed: It will be icy, cold and slippery. In Sweden, ice tracks, frozen lakes and many other tasks will be waiting for our team. Our 18 colleagues will put our shock absorbers, camshafts and steering systems through a rigorous test in sub-zero temperatures. They will test our products at the same place, where the major automobile manufacturers put their vehicles to the test.

Between our headquarters in Essen and our destination, northern Sweden's Arvidsjaur, lie more than 2,000 kilometers. A real test for every single of our cars.
Between our headquarters in Essen and our destination, northern Sweden's Arvidsjaur, lie more than 2,000 kilometers. A real test for every single of our cars.

“We will prove ourselves as a team and we will test our products in extreme situations. But above all, we will have a lot of fun”, states Kai Heller, Head of Global Content Management at thyssenkrupp Bilstein. “Of course, the driving skills of each of our employees will be challenged, but we can only master the road trip as a team. Accompanied by the Red Bull Driftbrothers Jow & Eli and Anton Marklund we have professional drivers at our site who will give us some useful tips”, he adds.

A unique opportunity to our employees but also the entire automotive business of thyssenkrupp. “We have a unique opportunity here. Together with all business units of thyssenkrupp Automotive Business, we have been able to demonstrate our competence, our expertise and our passion for mobility. Doing this through a road trip describes our daily actions and thinking. We are open for new ways and try to achieve them together. A team full of automotive passion, which is one of the reasons why we chose to make this road trip,” concludes Kai Heller.

Official kick-off in “Q3”, our thyssenkrupp pub

The official kick-off for the road trip took place on February 18in the quarter in Essen. For the first time, all participants met each other and used the occasion to get to know each other in a relaxed atmosphere in our pub in Essen. At the same time, they were also able to take a first exclusive look at the cars. Of course, our CEO Guido Kerkhoff as an avowed car lover did not want to miss this opportunity either. After all, he has a very special connection to cars: Bilstein also has dampers in his private vehicle. Even thirty years after installation, they still function perfectly.

Two car enthusiasts are talking for real: Driftbrother Elias Hountondji and our CEO Guido Kerkhoff.
Two car enthusiasts are talking for real: Driftbrother Elias Hountondji and our CEO Guido Kerkhoff.
Before the starting signal for their road trip, all participants met again for a drink in our quarter-owned pub
Before the starting signal for their road trip, all participants met again for a drink in our quarter-owned pub "Q3". Understandable, since all colleagues share the same passion for the automotive industry.
No real bar without a soccer table! However, instead of using wooden soccer players, our colleagues in Scandinavia will compete with our sports cars.
No real bar without a soccer table! However, instead of using wooden soccer players, our colleagues in Scandinavia will compete with our sports cars.

Our aim is to shape mobility not only today but also in the future. That is why our developers are already facing the challenges of tomorrow. We develop innovations that we not only tailor to the needs of our customers, but also to the most important trends of the coming years. We want to help shape the future of the automotive industry in a sustainable way and when it comes to changing the automotive industry, we have no speed limit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related articels

engineering together
Automotive-sector | Engineering | mobility of the future | People at thyssenkrupp | While spring is slowly emerging in Germany, there is an absolute contrast for 18 colleagues. Their challenge? Find out whether our components for the automotive industry can withstand extreme conditions. And that’s exactly where the major car manufacturers tested their vehicles: on snow and ice. Raphael Stratmann is at the forefront of our #roadtripsweden. He demonstrates the necessary foresight when driving and gives us an overview of all locations when doing business.
engineering together
Automotive-sector | Engineering | mobility of the future | People at thyssenkrupp | On their road trip to Arvidsjaur, Sweden, our automotive experts test their high-tech components under extreme conditions – high-tech dampers from thyssenkrupp Bilstein included. However, who decides how sports, comfort or off-road driving profiles should feel in practice? The answer: colleagues like Matthias Grünig. The test driver is part of the team that travels to northern Sweden. He has told us why the dampers of the future not only look ahead but could even prevent diseases.
engineering together
Automotive-sector | Engineering | mobility of the future | People at thyssenkrupp | On their road trip to Arvidsjaur, Sweden, our automotive experts test their high-tech components under extreme conditions. But who really cares about turning promising concepts into real solutions for the road? The answer: technology managers like Julian Beckmann. He also travels to northern Sweden with us and has told us which innovations could decisively shape the future of driving.

#roadtripsweden: Everyday Legends – Road to Sweden

Automotive-Sektor | Ingenieurskunst | Menschen bei thyssenkrupp | Mobilität der Zukunft | Wir lieben und leben Autos – von der Entwicklung bis zum Härtetest. Deswegen stellen wir uns einer ganz besonderen Herausforderung: Wir testen unsere eigene Ingenieurskunst bei einem Roadtrip. Und zwar unter extremen Bedingungen. Das Ziel? Arvidsjaur, Nordschweden. 4.400km Asphalt, Regen, Kälte und Eis. Am Steuer? Unsere Mitarbeiter, die alle Herausforderungen auf dem Weg gemeinsam als Team meistern.

Rustikale Unterkünfte, kalte Temperaturen und actionreiche Tage – für uns sind das die Grundvorrausetzungen für einen unvergesslichen Roadtrip mit thyssenkrupp Bilstein, einem der führenden Zulieferer und Entwicklungspartner für die globale Automobilindustrie.

Im Rahmen der „Bilstein Legends“ stellen sich unsere Mitarbeiter dieser ganz besonderen Herausforderung – zusammen mit bekannten Automobil-Profis wie Anton Marklund oder den RB Drift Brothers. Dabei werden unsere Automobilprodukte, welche zukünftig zum Portfolio des thyssenkrupp Industrial Konzerns gehören, beim ultimativen Härtetest auf schwedischem Eis geprüft.

Elias Hountondji (links) und Joe Hountondji (rechts) sind die amtierenden Vize- und Europameister in der Individualwertung und Europameister in der Teamwertung beim Driften. Beide Autos der Brüder sind ausgestattet mit BILSTEIN-Fahrwerken. Als „BILSTEIN Legends“ testen sie regelmäßig unsere Produkte unter den härtesten Bedingungen.  
Elias Hountondji (links) und Joe Hountondji (rechts) sind die amtierenden Vize- und Europameister in der Individualwertung und Europameister in der Teamwertung beim Driften. Beide Autos der Brüder sind ausgestattet mit BILSTEIN-Fahrwerken. Als „BILSTEIN Legends“ testen sie regelmäßig unsere Produkte unter den härtesten Bedingungen.  
Anton Marklund ist ein schwedischer Rennfahrer, der 2017 den FIA European Rallycross Championship gewonnen hat. Der 25-Jährige gilt als eines der größten Rallycross-Talente weltweit. Er testet unsere BILSTEIN-Dämpfer in dieser extremen Sportart.
Anton Marklund ist ein schwedischer Rennfahrer, der 2017 den FIA European Rallycross Championship gewonnen hat. Der 25-Jährige gilt als eines der größten Rallycross-Talente weltweit. Er testet unsere BILSTEIN-Dämpfer in dieser extremen Sportart.

Vom Schreibtisch ans Steuer

Für dieses ganz besondere Abenteuer konnten sich Bilstein Mitarbeiter aus ganz Deutschland bewerben. Geschafft haben es 18 von ihnen – von Auszubildenden bis hin zu Führungskräften. Gemeinsam muss das Team auf seinem Weg nach Schweden ganz unterschiedliche Herausforderungen meistern.

 Die Route: 4.400 km von Bochum bis nach Arvidsjaur

Am 17. März ging es in Bochum los. Die gesamte Crew machte sich auf den Weg nach Nordschweden. 2.200 km lässt das Team dabei pro Strecke hinter sich. Die Hinfahrt gliedert sich in drei Etappen, bei denen unsere Mitarbeiter die unterschiedlichsten Aufgaben lösen. So viel sei verraten: Es wird eisig, kalt und glatt. Denn in Schweden warten Eispisten, zugefrorene Seen und jede Menge andere Aufgaben auf unser Team. Dort werden unsere 18 Kollegen und Kolleginnen unsere Dämpfer, Nockenwellen und Lenksysteme bei empfindlichen Minusgraden einem Härtetest unterziehen. Sie werden die Fahrzeuge dort testen, wo auch die großen Automobilhersteller ihre Fahrzeuge auf die Probe stellen.

Zwischen unserem Hauptquartier in Essen und unserem Ziel, dem nordschwedischen Arvidsjaur, liegen über 2.000 Kilometer. Ein echter Test für jeden Wagen.
Zwischen unserem Hauptquartier in Essen und unserem Ziel, dem nordschwedischen Arvidsjaur, liegen über 2.000 Kilometer. Ein echter Test für jeden Wagen.

„Wir werden uns im Team beweisen, unsere Produkte unter Extremsituationen beanspruchen und vor allem eine Menge Spaß dabeihaben“, verspricht Kai Heller, Head of Global Content Management bei thyssenkrupp BILSTEIN. „Natürlich werden die Fahrkünste jedes einzelnen gefordert sein, die Route und Tour lässt sich jedoch nur gemeinsam meistern. Mit den Red Bull Driftbrothers Jow und Eli sowie Anton Marklund treffen wir auf professionelle Fahrer, welche uns definitiv den ein oder anderen Tipp geben werden.“

Eine einzigartige Gelegenheit für unsere Mitarbeiter, vor allem aber auch für das gesamte Automotive Business von thyssenkrupp. „Gemeinsam haben wir die Möglichkeit, unsere Kompetenz, unser Knowhow und unsere Leidenschaft für Mobilität unter Beweis zu stellen. Der Roadtrip zeigt, dass wir offen für neue Wege sind und diese gemeinsam gehen. Gemeinsam als thyssenkrupp mit starken Charakteren und immer im Team. Ein Team voller Automotive Leidenschaft“, hält Kai Heller abschließend fest.

Offizieller Startschuss im „Q3“, unserer thyssenkrupp Kneipe

Den offiziellen Startschuss für den Roadtrip gab es schon am 18.02 im Quartier in Essen. Zum ersten Mal trafen alle Teilnehmer aufeinander, um sich in unserer Essener Kneipe in lockerer Atmosphäre näher kennen zu lernen. Zeitgleich konnten sie auch schon einen ersten exklusiven Blick auf die Autos werfen. Diesen Anlass ließ sich natürlich auch unser CEO Guido Kerkhoff als bekennender Autoliebhaber nicht entgehen. Schließlich hat er eine ganz besondere Verbindung zu den Autos: Auch in seinem privaten Fahrzeug stecken Bilstein Dämpfer. Auch dreißig Jahre nach dem Einbau funktionieren die noch einwandfrei.

Zwei Autonarren im Fachgespräch: Driftbrother Elias Hountondji und unser CEO Guido Kerkhoff.
Zwei Autonarren im Fachgespräch: Driftbrother Elias Hountondji und unser CEO Guido Kerkhoff.
Vor dem Startschuss zum Roadtrip trafen sich alle Teilnehmer noch einmal auf einen Drink in der quartiereigenen Kneipe
Vor dem Startschuss zum Roadtrip trafen sich alle Teilnehmer noch einmal auf einen Drink in der quartiereigenen Kneipe "Q3". Verständlich, schließlich teilen alle Kollegen die gleiche Leidenschaft für die Automobilindustrie.
Keine echte Kneipe ohne Kicker! Statt mit Holzkickern werden sich die Kollegen in Skandinavien aber mit unseren Sportwagen messen.
Keine echte Kneipe ohne Kicker! Statt mit Holzkickern werden sich die Kollegen in Skandinavien aber mit unseren Sportwagen messen.

Unser Anspruch ist es nicht nur heute, sondern auch in Zukunft, die Mobilität aktiv mitzugestalten. Deswegen sitzen unsere Entwickler schon heute an den Herausforderungen von morgen. Wir entwickeln Innovationen, die nicht nur auf die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden abgestimmt sind, sondern auch auf die Trends der nächsten Jahre. Deswegen tüfteln unsere Entwickler bereits an alternativen Antriebssystemen und dem autonomen Fahren. Wir wollen die Zukunft der Automotive Industrie nachhaltig mitgestalten – und kennen dabei kein Tempolimit!

Autor

Jean-Luc Trojahn
  • geschrieben von Jean-Luc Trojahn
  • 18. März 2019

Hey, der E30 hat Style

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Verwandte Artikel

engineering tomorrow together
Automotive-Sektor | Ingenieurskunst | Menschen bei thyssenkrupp | Mobilität der Zukunft | Während in Deutschland langsam Frühlingsgefühle aufkommen, gibt es für 18 Kollegen das absolute Kontrastprogramm. Ihre Aufgabe? Herausfinden, ob unsere Komponenten für die Automobilindustrie auch Extrembedingungen standhalten – und das genau dort, wo auch die großen Autohersteller ihre Fahrzeuge testen: auf Schnee und Eis. Bei unserem #roadtripsweden vorne mit dabei: Raphael Stratmann. Er beweist beim Fahren den nötigen Weitblick – und im Geschäft den Überblick über alle Standorte.
engineering tomorrow together
Automotive-Sektor | Ingenieurskunst | Menschen bei thyssenkrupp | Mobilität der Zukunft | Auf ihrem Roadtrip ins schwedische Arvidsjaur testen unsere Automotive-Experten ihre Hightech-Komponenten unter extremen Bedingungen. Dazu gehören auch die Hightech-Dämpfer von thyssenkrupp Bilstein. Aber wer entscheidet eigentlich, wie genau sich deren Sport-, Komfort- oder Offroad-Fahrprofile anfühlen? Die Antwort: Versuchsfahrer wie Matthias Grünig. Auch er reist mit nach Nordschweden – und hat uns erzählt, warum die Dämpfer der Zukunft nicht nur vorausschauen, sondern sogar Krankheiten vorbeugen könnten.
engineering tomorrow together
Automotive-Sektor | Ingenieurskunst | Menschen bei thyssenkrupp | Mobilität der Zukunft | Auf ihrem Roadtrip ins schwedische Arvidsjaur testen unsere Automotive-Experten ihre Hightech-Komponenten unter extremen Bedingungen. Aber wer kümmert sich eigentlich darum, dass aus vielversprechenden Konzepten echte Lösungen für die Straße werden können? Die Antwort: Technologie-Manager wie Julian Beckmann. Auch er reist mit nach Nordschweden – und hat uns erzählt, welche Innovationen die Zukunft des Fahrens entscheidend prägen könnten. Ein Beispiel: Steer-by-wire – der Möglichmacher für autonomes Fahren.