On the road again

blue.cruiser ready for the public roads

With building and unveiling now completed, it’s time for the blue.cruiser to hit the highway. But of course in Germany it’s not as easy as that – first you need a license for road use. And that’s something the SolarCar has to earn:

Its three predecessors were all licensed as light electric vehicles (L7e). With the blue.cruiser the Bochum students want to go a step further and register the solar car as a conventional car (M1).

The approval procedure for this is stricter. Frank Böse of the vehicle inspection association DEKRA is on hand to advise and help the SolarCar team: “I’ve been working with the students since the design phase so they’re thoroughly prepared for the inspection and approval process,” he says. The blue.cruiser will be given a license only if it complies with the relevant national regulations. These include for example braking deceleration requirements (57 m/s²). Firm anchorage of the seatbelts and defect-free functioning of brake and indicator lights are other criteria Böse is watching out for. And the noise emitted by the blue.cruiser when traveling at 50 km/h must not exceed 74 decibels – of course for the electrically powered solar car that’s no problem.

Frank Böse from the vehicle inspection association DEKRA has been on hand to help and advise the students with the thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser from day one.

Solarcar

To obtain a license, the thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser has to comply with all national regulations, as meticulously documented by Frank Böse.

RS225892_D 6377_012-ppt

Tires and braking distance are particularly important.

SolarCar

Nothing escapes the expert’s watchful eye.

Finally the vehicle is weighed. Frank Böse is satisfied: “The students have done a great job. They and the blue.cruiser have again earned their vehicle type approval!” Now all they have to do is register the vehicle and attach its license plate. So from now on keep a lookout in traffic – the blue.cruiser could be heading towards you!

SolarCar

All hands on deck to make the thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser street-legal.

On the road again

Der blue.cruiser fährt bald auf öffentlichen Straßen

Fertig zusammengebaut und der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert, soll der blue.cruiser nun ganz schnell auf die Straße. Doch das geht in Deutschland natürlich nicht einfach so. Straßenzulassung heißt das Zauberwort und die muss sich das SolarCar verdienen:

Andere Klasse, andere Anforderungen

Seine drei Vorgänger düsten bisher in der Fahrzeugklasse für leichte Elektrofahrzeuge (L7e) umher. Mit dem blue.cruiser wollen die Bochumer Studierenden noch einen Schritt weiter Richtung Alltagstauglichkeit und das Sonnenauto als herkömmlichen Pkw (M1) anmelden.

Dafür muss sich der Sonnenflitzer einem strengeren Zulassungsverfahren unterziehen. Dekra-Mitarbeiter Frank Böse steht dem SolarCar-Team dabei mit Rat und Tat zur Seite: „Ich begleite die Studierenden schon während der Konstruktionsphase, sodass sie bestens vorbereitet sind für die spätere Abnahme“, erzählt er. Eine Betriebserlaubnis erhält der blue.cruiser nämlich nur dann, wenn er den einschlägigen nationalen Vorschriften entspricht. Diese beinhalten zum Beispiel Vorgaben zur Bremsverzögerung (57 m/s²). Die feste Verankerung der Sicherheitsgurte und die einwandfreie Funktion von Brems- und Blinklicht sind weitere Kriterien, die Böse akribisch überprüft. Auch darf der blue.cruiser bei einer Fahrt mit 50 km/h die Dezibelgrenze von 74 Dezibel nicht überschreiten – das ist natürlich kein Problem für den elektrisch angetriebenen Sonnenwagen.

Frank Böse von der DEKRA begleitet den thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser und die Studierenden von Anfang an mit Rat und Tat.

Solarcar

Um eine Betriebserlaubnis zu erhalten, muss der thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser alle nationalen Vorschriften erfüllen, die von Frank Böse akribisch nachgehalten werden.

 

RS225892_D 6377_012-ppt

Reifen und Bremsweg sind besonders wichtig.

SolarCar

Dem strengen Blick des Sachverständigen entgeht nichts.

Ab auf die Straße!

Schließlich wird der Sonnenwagen noch gewogen. Frank Böse ist zufrieden: „Die Studierenden haben tolle Arbeit geleistet. Die Straßenzulassung haben sie und der blue.cruiser sich auch diesmal wieder verdient!“

Nun steht dem Gang zum Straßenverkehrsamt und dem eigenen amtlichen Kennzeichen nichts mehr im Wege. Spätestens jetzt also Augen auf im Straßenverkehr – der blue.cruiser könnte Ihnen entgegenkommen!

SolarCar

Alle packen mit an, um den thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser fit für die Straße zu bekommen.