Never change a winning team

Automotive-sector | When Arno Höfner describes his work with Volvo Cars, he almost goes into raptures. As a Business Development Manager, he has been looking after his customer for three years now. Therefore, he spends half of his working hours away in Sweden and China – always really close to the customer.

Arno Höfner, Business Development Manager at thyssenkrupp System Engineering

Arno Höfner, Business Development Manager at thyssenkrupp System Engineering

Mr. Höfner, thyssenkrupp System Engineering has been supplying Volvo for over ten years. What are you working on at the moment?
„We are currently supplying Volvo with the production lines for the bodyshell, in conjunction with the weld technology for new generations of vehicles. Some of the projects are at the final acceptance stage; some new projects are in the design phase. Production lines for the doors, hoods, trunks, and fenders of the new S90 and V90 were commissioned and handed over to Volvo in February 2016. In addition, the assembly lines for modern four-cylinder engines came from our company in the last ten years. At the end of 2015, we were also commissioned as a supplier of press tools for the first time, with a project running into the tens of millions. We are now for the first time partners for the entire process chain.“

For the first time, we implemented the entire process chain for our customer Volvo: simultaneous engineering, press tools, bodyshell lines and weld technology.

And what is your task as Business Development Manager?
„As Business Development Managers, we are very close to our customers. We are already involved in their projects two or three years before they are market-ready. Following acquisition, I support a project over and beyond signing the contract, through to handover of the equipment. As Volvo belongs to the Chinese car company Geely since 2010, I am increasingly focused on Volvo China, with regular visits there. It is my personal challenge to also establish ourselves as a supplier to Geely. The collaboration with my Chinese colleagues is very important in this respect.“

How did you get into Business Development?
„My background is in mechanical engineering, and I started over 20 years ago in project-bid planning for the body shop. In 2002, I switched to sales. As the company grew increasingly larger and our product portfolio was considerably expanded, Business Development Management was introduced seven years ago. In this function, my customers include Volvo, Geely, and Ford.“

Mr. Höfner, what is your impression of working with the customer Volvo cars?
„Volvo Cars is a strongly technology-driven company and very open to innovation. These are also our major strengths. We continuously extend our expertise and grow with product and customer requirements. For that reason, the customer relationship is in the nature of a partnership: the customer not only permits this, but actually requires it. Volvo has set itself the target of being able to produce a new car from development through to start of production within 24 months by 2020. This sort of target is only possible with a reliable partner like thyssenkrupp. And on top of that, the Swedish company Volvo Cars has a great family feel, which I experience when I am there in Gothenburg or Olofström.“

Our strength lies in our expertise and the will to grow with product and market requirements.

In 2015, thyssenkrupp has been awarded the title Volvo Cars Quality Excellence supplier once again – great recognition for successful project work. What does this award mean for you personally?
„With this award, the performance of an entire team is acknowledged. This makes me feel proud, of course. We get an indication that we made the right decisions – we selected good employees, outstanding technical solutions, and the right subcontractors. Every team member has delivered above-average performance in order to achieve the project targets – both in terms of quality and in adherence to deadlines and cost targets.“

One last question: what car do you drive?
„I am delighted to say that I will get the first Volvo XC60 as my company car in the spring. My own car is an open-top model, and unfortunately the Volvo fleet does not include one of those at the moment (he laughs).“

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Never change a winning team

Automotive-Sektor | Wenn Arno Höfner seine Zusammenarbeit mit Volvo Cars beschreibt, gerät er fast ins Schwärmen. Seit drei Jahren betreut er den Automobilhersteller als Business Development Manager. Die Hälfte seiner Arbeitszeit ist er dafür in Schweden und China unterwegs – immer ganz nah am Kunden.

Arno Höfner, Business Development Manager bei thyssenkrupp System Engineering

Arno Höfner, Business Development Manager bei thyssenkrupp System Engineering

Herr Höfner, schon seit über zehn Jahren beliefert thyssenkrupp System Engineering den Kunden Volvo. Woran arbeiten Sie aktuell?
„Derzeit liefern wir Produktionsanlagen für den Karosseriebau und Falztechnik für neue Fahrzeuggenerationen. Die Projekte befinden sich teilweise in der Endabnahme, neue Projekte in der Konstruktionsphase. Fertigungsanlagen für Türen, Klappen und Kotflügel des neuen S90 & V90 wurden im Februar 2016 in Betrieb genommen und an Volvo übergeben. Daneben kamen in den vergangenen zehn Jahren die Montagelinien moderner Vier-Zylinder-Motoren aus unserem Haus. Ende 2015 wurden wir erstmals auch als Lieferant für Presswerkzeuge mit einem zweistelligen Millionenprojekt beauftragt. Mittlerweile sind wir Partner für die gesamte Prozesskette.“

Für Volvo realisierten wir erstmals die gesamte Prozesskette: Simultaneous Engineering, Presswerkzeuge, Rohbauanlagen und Falztechnik.

Was ist dabei Ihre Aufgabe als Business Development Manager?
„Als Business Development Manager sind wir sehr nah an unseren Kunden. Schon zwei bis drei Jahre vor Marktreife sind wir in ihre Projekte involviert. Nach der Akquise betreue ich ein Projekt über den Vertragsabschluss hinaus bis hin zur Übergabe der Anlagen. Da Volvo Cars seit 2010 zum chinesischen Fahrzeugkonzern Geely gehört, konzentriere ich mich derzeit verstärkt auf Volvo China und bin regelmäßig vor Ort. Meine ganz persönliche Challenge ist es, uns auch bei Geely als Zulieferer zu platzieren. Dafür arbeite ich sehr eng mit meinen chinesischen Kollegen zusammen.“

Wie sind Sie ins Business Development gekommen?
„Von Hause aus bin ich Maschinenbauingenieur und vor über 20 Jahren in der Angebotsprojektierung für den Karosseriebau gestartet. 2002 wechselte ich in den Vertrieb. Da sich unser Unternehmen und auch unser Produktportfolio mit der Zeit stark vergrößert haben, wurde vor sieben Jahren das Business Development Management eingeführt. Heute zählen Volvo, Geely und Ford zu meinen Kunden.“

Herr Höfner, wie erleben Sie die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden Volvo Cars?
„Volvo Cars ist ein stark technologiegetriebenes Unternehmen und sehr aufgeschlossen gegenüber Innovationen. Das sind auch unsere großen Stärken. Wir bauen unser Know-how kontinuierlich aus und wachsen mit Produkt- und Kundenanforderungen. Unsere Beziehung ist daher sehr partnerschaftlich geprägt: Und der Kunde lässt dies nicht nur zu, er fordert es auch ein. Volvo hat das Ziel, bis 2020 innerhalb von 24 Monaten ein Neufahrzeug von der Entwicklung bis zum Produktionsstart zu realisieren. Und das ist nur mit einem verlässlichen Partner wie thyssenkrupp möglich. Dazu kommt: Das schwedische Unternehmen Volvo Cars ist sehr familiär geprägt. Dies erlebe ich auch, wenn ich in Göteborg oder Olofström vor Ort bin.“

Unsere Stärke ist unser Know-how und der Wille, mit Produkt- und Kundenanforderungen zu wachsen.

2015 wurde thyssenkrupp als Zulieferer erneut mit dem Volvo Cars Quality Excellence Award ausgezeichnet – eine tolle Anerkennung erfolgreicher Projektarbeit. Was bedeutet Ihnen diese Auszeichnung?
„Mit dem Award wird die Leistung eines ganzen Teams gewürdigt. Natürlich macht mich eine solche Auszeichnung stolz. Sie zeigt, dass wir die richtigen Entscheidungen getroffen haben – wir haben gute Mitarbeiter, hervorragende technische Lösungen und die richtigen Unterlieferanten ausgewählt. Jeder im Team hat überdurchschnittliche Leistungen erbracht, um die Projektziele zu erreichen – sowohl bei der Qualität als auch bei der Einhaltung von Termin- und Kostenzielen.“

Eine letzte Frage: Welches Fahrzeug fahren Sie?
„Es freut mich sehr, dass ich im Frühjahr den ersten Volvo XC60 der neuen Generation dienstlich übernehmen darf. Privat fahre ich ein „Fahrzeug ohne Dach“, leider bietet die Volvo-Flotte ein solches Modell momentan nicht an (lacht).“

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.