Career Development in Down Under

thyssenkrupp worldwide | thyssenkrupp offers many opportunities! The story of Laura and Tom highlights it. After their studies both started their career as consultants at thyssenkrupp Management Consulting (TKMC). In the past 2 years they experienced the breadth of our Group through varied projects. To learn even more about the operational business and in order to gain international working experience they decided to emigrate – with and for thyssenkrupp. Everything went really fast and since October Laura and Tom are working for thyssenkrupp in Sydney. I talked to them about their previous work as consultants at TKMC, their way to Australia and about their experiences so far in their new home.

Anne: Laura and Tom. Please shortly introduce yourselves to the engineered-readers. Why did you join TKMC after your studies?  

Tom:

After finishing my master’s degree in Industrial Engineering & Management at the Technical University Dresden I started working at TKMC in October 2013. During my studies I was already a member of the thyssenkrupp scholarship program and made an internship at thyssenkrupp Resource Technologies in Atlanta (US). As an industrial engineer I am fascinated by the combination of technology and business topics. Thus the decision for the internal management consultancy seemed natural to me.

Laura:

I finished my master’s degree in Finance at the University of Cologne in February 2014 and then started at TKMC. I was attracted by the prospect to be part of a huge and diverse industrial conglomerate that offers so many opportunities. But in the end the decisive factor for me were the people I got to know during the recruiting process at TKMC.

Anne: Can you explain how the work of a consultant is like? What did you experience?

Tom:

A whole lot! Basically I was a „consultant from the very first day“ and so I directly joined my new project team. Therefore a steep learning curve is guaranteed. And you also get to know the various facets of the Group. Overall, each of worked on four projects in different Business Areas as well as on Corporate level. We worked on topics like benchmarking, market analyses, business segment strategies and supported the management of commercial projects.

Anne: That sounds very positive and you have also worked internally, but still you wanted to go abroad?

Laura:

Of course, as a consultant you travel a lot, but Germany always remains your home base.

The wish for international work experience – not only for a few months – had been slumbering in the both of us for quite some time. It is a completely new experience to relocate your whole life in a foreign country and to settle down.

Anne: What were the next steps? How did you realize your plans?

Tom:

A company like thyssenkrupp is perfect for such a wish as international development and of course we were supported.

Laura:

We received the offer to relocate to Sydney for thyssenkrupp and we should take time think about our decision.

Tom (laughs and adds quickly):

Sydney! You don’t think twice about this opportunity 🙂

Laura:

And in spite of the pain of separation we also received a lot of support from our families, especially with the preparation and all the little things you have to manage in order to move abroad.

Anne: I imagine it to be very stressful to emigrate. What did you have to organize before your relocation?

Laura:

Yes, of course it was a little bit stressful. Within only a few weeks we dissolved our households, cancelled contracts, shifted insurances, sold furniture and so on.  Doing all that besides our fulltime job as consultant was very demanding but it was also a good and exciting feeling. In the end there were only 6 huge suitcases with clothes and some boxes left, that’s it.

Anne: For which thyssenkrupp businesses do you work now in Sydney and what exactly are your topics?

Office building of tk Mannex in Sydney

Tom:

I work at thyssenkrupp Mannex in the north of Sydney. From here I work on strategy topics for the Regional Headquarter Asia Pacific. These topics apply to Australia but also to the whole region. Furthermore I support the communication team at various topics. These subjects are very similar to my former tasks at TKMC, but I am closer to the daily business now. Aside from that there are many interesting topics for thyssenkrupp in Australia and Asia Pacific at the moment and my new colleagues here are very open. The managers of Mannex – both also Germans, who have been already working and living here for some time – predict that we won’t want to leave Sydney anymore.

Laura:

I work at thyssenkrupp Elevator. My tasks are very different from what I’ve done at TKMC but I benefit from the things I’ve learned there. My target is to identify synergy potential for all Australian units in the indirect purchasing. So it’s mainly about topics as for example IT and travel – in fact, everything that’s not relevant for production. My first project was a tender for office supplies for the whole country. By now we’re in the middle of the implementation and in the next few weeks we will give the official “green light” for our new suppliers. It is very interesting to experience the daily business over here. The atmosphere is great and the welcome by the new colleagues was very warm.

Anne: By now you have already experienced some months of “everyday life” in Sydney and surely you have learned lots of new things. Can you share 3 differences compared to living in Germany with us?

Tom (answers directly):

Well, we spend our weekends at the beach 🙂 In Australia you spend most of your free time outside – no wonder considering the great weather over here.

The prices for groceries, internet, apartment – almost everything – is a lot more expensive compared to Germany. It’s no’ without reason that Sydney is one of the most expensive cities in the world.

A very positive surprise for us was that the Australians are crazy about coffee. Therefore you get really great coffee at every corner.

Laura (adds):

At first we thought that we would probably miss many things but over time you know your way around and you find a good German bakery for example. And when it comes to cooking you become more creative.

Anne: Exciting, new tasks at work and weekends at the beach. That sounds very good. And what comes next for you?

Laura:

We want to use every free minute to get to know the city and the country even better. Especially during the first weeks we visited every attraction and sights like tourists as for example Habour Bridge, the Opera or Bondi Beach. Soon we want to learn diving and then visit the best diving spots in Australia. There is so much for us to discover – and of course our nice colleagues also show us the city and its best places.

Laura and Tom, thanks a lot for your time and the insights. I wish you much success further on and all the best for your upcoming time in Sydney!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Weiterentwicklung in Down Under

thyssenkrupp weltweit | thyssenkrupp bietet unzählige Möglichkeiten! Dies zeigt auch die Geschichte von Laura und Tom. Beide starteten nach dem Studium als Berater bei thyssenkrupp Management Consulting (TKMC). In den vergangenen 2 Jahren konnten sie unseren Konzern durch vielseitige Projekte live und in Farbe erleben. Um auch das operative Geschäft noch näher kennenzulernen und internationale Erfahrung zu sammeln, beschlossen die beiden für - und mit - thyssenkrupp auszuwandern. Dann ging alles ganz schnell und seit Oktober arbeiten Laura und Tom für thyssenkrupp in Sydney. Ich habe mit beiden zu ihrer Beratertätigkeit bei TKMC, ihrem Weg nach Australien und über ihre bisherigen Erfahrungen in der neuen Heimat gesprochen.

Anne: Laura und Tom. Stellt euch doch den engineered-Lesern bitte kurz vor. Wie seid ihr nach eurem Studium zu TKMC gekommen?

Tom:

Ich bin direkt nach meinem Masterabschluss in Industrial Engineering & Management an der TU Dresden im Oktober 2013 bei TKMC eingestiegen. Während meines Studiums war ich bereits im thyssenkrupp Studienförderungsprogramm und habe ein Praktikum bei thyssenkrupp Resource Technologies in Atlanta (US) gemacht. Als Wirtschaftsingenieur begeistert mich die Kombination aus Technologie und wirtschaftlichen Themen. Da lag die Entscheidung für die interne Managementberatung nahe.

Laura:

Nach meinen Master of Finance in Köln habe im Februar 2014 bei TKMC angefangen. Mich hat es sehr gereizt Teil eines großen und vielseitigen Industriekonzerns mit vielen Möglichkeiten zu sein. Den Ausschlag haben aber letztendlich die Menschen bei TKMC gegeben, die ich während des Recruiting-Prozesses kennengelernt habe.

Anne: Wie sieht denn die Arbeit eines Beraters bei TKMC aus? Was habt Ihr während der Zeit erlebt?

Tom:

Eine Menge! Ich war im Grunde „Berater ab dem ersten Tag“ und bin direkt auf mein erstes Projekt gekommen. Eine steile Lernkurve ist da garantiert. Und man lernt viele Facetten des Konzerns kennen. Jeder von uns hat während der Zeit bei TKMC insgesamt vier Projekte in verschiedenen Business Areas und auf Corporate-Ebene gemacht. Dabei bearbeiteten wir Themen wie Benchmarking, Marktanalysen, Geschäftsfeldstrategien und unterstützten beim Management kaufmännischer Projekte. Und das nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern international.

Anne: Das hört sich doch sehr positiv an und als Berater habt ihr auch international gearbeitet. Dennoch zog es euch in die Ferne?

Laura:

Natürlich ist man als Berater viel unterwegs, jedoch ist und bleibt der Lebensmittelpunkt ja in Deutschland.

Der Wunsch nach internationaler Arbeitserfahrung – und zwar nicht nur für ein paar Monate – schlummerte schon länger in uns beiden. Es ist eine völlig neue Erfahrung sein komplettes Leben in ein fremdes Land zu verlegen und dort Fuß zu fassen.

Anne: Wie ging es dann weiter? Wie habt ihr euer Vorhaben umgesetzt?

Tom:

Ein Konzern wie thyssenkrupp ist perfekt für solch einen Wunsch der internationalen Weiterentwicklung und wir wurden nach Kräften unterstützt.

Laura:

Wir bekamen das Angebot für thyssenkrupp nach Sydney zu gehen, und sollten uns ruhig Zeit lassen für die Entscheidung.

Tom (lacht und ergänzt schnell):

Sydney! Da muss man wohl nicht lange überlegen.

Laura:

Zum Glück haben wir trotz Trennungsschmerz wahnsinnig viel Unterstützung von unseren Familien bekommen, auch bei der Vorbereitung und dem ganzen Kleinkram den man erledigen muss, wenn man ins Ausland geht.

Anne: So eine Auswanderung stelle ich mir recht anstrengend vor. Was musstet ihr alles erledigen in den Wochen vor eurem Umzug?

Laura:

Stressig war es schon ein wenig. Wir haben binnen einiger Wochen unsere Hausstände aufgelöst, Verträge gekündigt, Versicherungen umgestellt, Möbel verkauft etc.. Neben der Arbeit ging das schon ein wenig an die Substanz, aber es war auch ein schönes und aufregendes Gefühl. Übrig geblieben sind 6 große Koffer voller Kleidung und ein paar Kisten, that‘s it.

Anne: Für welche Bereiche arbeitet ihr nun in Sydney und was genau ist eure Aufgabe?

Bürogebäude von thyssenkrupp Mannex in Sydney

Tom:

Ich sitze bei thyssenkrupp Mannex im Norden von Sydney. Von hier aus arbeite ich für das Regional Headquarter Asia Pacific an Strategiethemen, die sowohl Australien, als auch die gesamte Region betreffen.  Zudem unterstütze ich das Kommunikationsteam in verschiedenen Projekten. Inhaltlich sind die Themen sehr ähnlich zu meinen damaligen Aufgaben bei TKMC, aber man ist noch näher am Tagesgeschehen. Außerdem gibt es in Australien und Asia Pacific im Moment sehr viele spannende Themen für thyssenkrupp. Die Kollegen hier vor Ort sind sehr offen. Die Manager der Mannex – beide auch Deutsche, die schon länger hier arbeiten – prophezeien, dass wir Sydney nicht mehr verlassen wollen.

Laura:

Ich arbeite bei thyssenkrupp Elevator. Meine Aufgaben unterscheiden sich deutlich von dem, was ich bei TKMC gemacht habe. Dennoch kommt mir das, was ich dort gelernt habe, hier sehr zu Gute. Mein Ziel ist, im indirekten Einkauf Synergiepotentiale zu heben, und das für alle Australischen Einheiten. Da geht es vor allem um Themen wie Logistik, IT und Travel. Eigentlich alles, was nicht direkt produktionsrelevant ist. Mein erstes Projekt – eine Ausschreibung für Office Supplies für Gesamtaustralien – ist inzwischen in der Implementierung, in den nächsten paar Wochen ist offizieller Startschuss für den neuen Lieferanten. Es ist spannend zu sehen, wie hier das Tagesgeschäft läuft. Die Arbeitsatmosphäre ist toll und der Empfang durch die Kollegen hier war sehr herzlich und offen.

Anne: Nun habt ihr ja schon ein paar Monate „Alltag“ in Sydney erlebt und sicherlich auch viel Neues kennengelernt. Nennt uns doch mal 3 Unterschiede, die euch im Vergleich zu Deutschland auffallen.

Tom (antwortet direkt):

Zum einen verbringen wir unsere Wochenenden am Strand 🙂 Insgesamt verbringt man in Australien seine Freizeit fast nur draußen – kein Wunder bei dem Wetter!

Die Preise für Lebensmittel, Internet, Wohnung – fast alles ist wesentlich teurer im Vergleich zu Deutschland. Nicht umsonst ist Sydney eine der teuersten Städte der Welt.

Eine sehr positive Überraschung war für uns, dass die Australier verrückt nach Kaffee sind, und man daher an jeder Ecke richtig guten Kaffee bekommt.

Laura (ergänzt):

Am Anfang haben wir gedacht, uns würde vielleicht doch so einiges fehlen, aber mit der Zeit findet man z.B. einen guten deutschen Bäcker. Und beim Kochen wird man halt kreativ.

Anne: Spannende, neue Aufgaben bei der Arbeit und Wochenenden am Strand. Das klingt doch alles sehr gut. Und wie geht’s nun bei euch weiter?

Laura:

Wir wollen jede freie Minute nutzen, um  die Stadt und das Land besser kennenzulernen. Gerade die ersten Wochen sind wir wie Touristen am Wochenende von Attraktion zu Attraktion getingelt, ob Harbour Bridge, Oper oder Bondi Beach. Demnächst wollen wir tauchen lernen, und uns dann die besten Plätze in Australien anschauen. Es gibt wahnsinnig viel zu entdecken. Da helfen nette Kollegen, die einem die Stadt und die besten Spots zeigen.

Laura und Tom, vielen Dank für eure Zeit und die Einblicke. Ich wünsche euch weiterhin viel Erfolg und alles Gute in Sydney!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.