Racing over the finishing line – and into a dream job

Apprenticeship at thyssenkrupp | Automotive-sector | Career at thyssenkrupp | Engineering | At the 1st thyssenkrupp Presta Racing Day students put themselves and their self-constructed racing cars to the ultimate test for the Formula Student Racing series. And while they are here many of them discover their dream job.

A racing car sweeps around the track, hurtles into a bend, and picks up even more speed on the home straight. “The front axle hasn’t got enough grip,” says driver Christian Türk as he climbs out.

His colleagues from the Racing Team of the Technical University Graz immediately set about solving the problem. They are all students – every year they build a new, fully functional racing car, working on their own with the support of sponsors. Their vehicles reach top speeds of up to 150 km/h.

Four teams, one passion: The students spend the better part of their free time working on their racing cars. Four teams, one passion: The students spend the better part of their free time working on their racing cars.

Emblazoned across the right side is the students’ name for their car: Giulia. They will be competing with Giulia in races all over the world – including the Formula Student Austria in Spielberg, where the Formula 1 Austrian Grand Prix is also staged.

Student racing teams practice for major events at thyssenkrupp Presta

The 1st thyssenkrupp Presta Racing Day gives the teams an opportunity to train for these competitions. What is running smoothly? What do we need to improve? How can we communicate better? thyssenkrupp Presta supports the 40 participants from four teams in different ways, whether financial, or with parts or advice.

Everyone knows his job, everything runs smoothly: The students have been working together for years - they know each other by heart.Everyone knows his job, everything runs smoothly: The students have been working together for years – they know each other by heart.

“Here we can solve concrete problems and work under pressure in industrial conditions,” says Ivan Jankovics from the Bern Formula Team. The big moment comes when the race gets started. “That’s when all our work pays off.” Race days are special for the whole team. David Clemens, test driver with the Bodensee Racing Team Constance, has vivid memories of when he first started: “The first few times I was almost scared of the car because it’s different from anything you’ve ever experienced before. It shoots off as soon as you step on the gas.”

Passionate about achieving goals – in racing and at work

The students spend a large part of their spare time designing and building their cars. This passion is a characteristic explicitly sought by Pedro Malta de Jesus Veiga, Head of Sourcing and Recruiting at thyssenkrupp Presta Liechtenstein.

At events like this he’s always on the look-out for new talent who may be interested in working at thyssenkrupp Presta. “All the students here have outstanding technical skills and through their involvement in Formula Student they bring with them valuable automotive experience. The project also teaches them how to work as part of a team and how different roles are distributed and performed.”

Once they graduate, students can work at thyssenkrupp Presta as development engineers for example in design, testing, simulations or acoustics. At  present the focus topics are in the field of steer-by-wire, autonomous driving and e-mobility. A broad area with focus on innovation – lots of students participating at Formula Student could see their future here.

thyssenkrupp Racing Day: „We get fresh input“

So the thyssenkrupp Presta Racing Day is a win-win situation: “The students ask challenging questions, they are inquisitive and make us think. We get fresh input,” says Pedro Malta de Jesus Veiga. For their part the students get tips from experienced engineers and also from one of the judges of the Formula Student Racing series. “The students are very interested and here they have the great opportunity talking to me and the other teams in advance to the official races,” says Carlo Miano.

Prize of 500 Swiss francs for winners of time trial

To round off the day the teams can take part in a time trial, allowing them to train under race conditions. The verdict of the winning team from Graz is enthusiastic: “That was the best preparation. Thank you for a super day.” And they also take home a prize of 500 Swiss francs.

The winners: The team from the university in Graz has had a very successful day at the 1. thyssenkrupp Presta racing day.The winners: The team from the university in Graz has had a very successful day at the 1. thyssenkrupp Presta racing day.

Maybe one of the winners has taken a decisive step into his future today. It often happens. Every year 10 former students of Formula Student find work at thyssenkrupp Presta. Racing cars and thyssenkrupp – a true success story.

Author

Saleem khan
  • written by Saleem khan
  • 17. July 2018

I ready to work with your team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related articels

Dana Evert is the Senior Vice President Human Resources for North America at thyssenkrupp. She strongly believes: Diversity is key.
engineering together
Automotive-sector | People at thyssenkrupp | From the Electrical Engineering Competence Center in Budapest Hungary to the North American EPS in Troy, MI, Imre Benyo has definitely made moves as well as good use of his extensive Mechanical and Electrical Engineering expertise. He says that what he likes most about his job are the versatile tasks as well as the freedom to perform those tasks.
together
Career at thyssenkrupp | People at thyssenkrupp | Sengül Pehlivanoglu (28) is the last stop for steering shafts produced in Liechtenstein. She joined thyssenkrupp four years ago and works with three other female colleagues in the final inspection department, checking 800 steering shafts per hour before they leave the factory.

Formula Student Racing Day: Mit 150 km/h zum Traumberuf

Ausbildung bei thyssenkrupp | Automotive-Sektor | Ingenieurskunst | Karriere bei thyssenkrupp | Beim 1. thyssenkrupp Presta Racing Day stellen sich Formula Student-Fahrer und ihre selbstgebauten Rennwagen dem ultimativen Härtetest. Und machen den ersten Schritt in ihren Traumberuf.

Der Rennwagen fegt durch den aufgebauten Parcours, rast um eine Kurve, auf der letzten Geraden beschleunigt er noch einmal stark. Mit kritischem Blick steigt Christian Türk aus seinem Boliden. „Die Vorderachse hat zu wenig Grip“, so das Urteil des Fahrers. Sofort machen sich seine Kollegen vom Formula Student Racing Team der Technischen Universität Graz an die Arbeit, um das Problem zu beheben. Sie alle sind Studenten – jedes Jahr bauen sie einen neuen, voll funktionsfähigen Rennwagen. Alles in Eigenregie, mit Unterstützung von Sponsoren. Bis zu 150 km/h bringen die Wagen auf die Rennstrecke.

Vier Teams, eine Leidenschaft: Den größten Teil ihrer Freizeit verbringen die Studenten aus der Formula Student mit ihren selbstgebauten Rennwagen.Vier Teams, eine Leidenschaft: Den größten Teil ihrer Freizeit verbringen die Studenten aus der Formula Student mit ihren selbstgebauten Rennwagen.

Ihr Auto haben sie Giulia getauft, der Name steht prominent auf der rechten Seite. Mit Giulia werden sie noch bei Rennen auf der ganzen Welt antreten – zum Beispiel bei der Formula Student Austria in Spielberg. Auf dieser Rennstrecke fahren auch die Profis der Formel 1 beim Großen Preis von Österreich.

Formula Student Racing Teams proben mit thyssenkrupp für die großen Rennen

Der 1. thyssenkrupp Presta Racing Day im österreichischen Röthis ist die perfekte Gelegenheit für die Teams der Formula Student, um für diese Herausforderungen zu trainieren: Was läuft rund? Wo muss noch nachgebessert werden? Wie können Absprachen verbessert werden? thyssenkrupp unterstützt die 40 Teilnehmer aus insgesamt vier Teams auf ganz unterschiedliche Weise – sei es finanziell, mit Bauteilen oder als erfahrener Berater.

Jeder kennt seinen Platz, jeder Handgriff sitzt: Seit Jahren arbeiten die Studenten in Teams zusammen, kennen sich und das Auto in- und auswendig.Jeder kennt seinen Platz, jeder Handgriff sitzt: Seit Jahren arbeiten die Studenten in Teams zusammen, kennen sich und das Auto in- und auswendig.

„Wir können hier konkrete Probleme lösen und unter Industriebedingungen auch unter Zeitdruck arbeiten“, freut sich Ivan Jankovics vom Bern Formula Team. Die großen Momente sind aber immer die Rennen selbst. „Dann zahlt sich die ganze Arbeit aus.“ David Clemens, Testfahrer beim Bodensee Racing Team Konstanz, erinnert sich noch gut an seine Anfänge in den federleichten Racern: „Die ersten Male hatte ich fast Angst vor dem Auto, weil es anders ist als alles, was man vorher erlebt habt. Es zieht extrem stark an, sobald man auf das Gas geht.“

Große Leidenschaft – in der Formula Student und im Beruf

Einen Großteil ihrer Freizeit verbringen die Studenten mit der Konstruktion ihrer Wagen – eine Leidenschaft, nach der Pedro Malta de Jesus Veiga, Head of Sourcing and Recruiting bei thyssenkrupp Presta Liechtenstein, ganz gezielt sucht.

Denn: Veranstaltungen wie der Racing Day sind immer auch Plattformen für Talente, die sich für die Automotive-Arbeit bei thyssenkrupp interessieren. „Alle Studenten hier haben eine überaus große technische Affinität. Mit ihrem Engagement bei Formula Student bringen sie für uns wertvolle Automotive-Erfahrung mit. Außerdem lernen sie im Rahmen des Projekts, wie man im Team arbeitet und wie unterschiedliche Rollen verteilt und eingenommen werden.“

Bei thyssenkrupp können die ehemaligen Studenten dann z.B. als Entwicklungsingenieure einsteigen und ihre Kenntnisse in den Bereichen Konstruktion, Versuch, Berechnung, Akustik oder Testing einsetzen. Aktuelle Schwerpunktthemen für die Mitarbeiter sind vor allem Steer-by-Wire, autonomes Fahren und E-Mobilität. Ein breites Feld mit dem Fokus auf Innovation. Viele Studenten, die Teil eines Formula Student Racing Teams sind, können sich hier eine berufliche Zukunft vorstellen.

thyssenkrupp Racing Day: „Wir bekommen frischen Input“

Und so ist der thyssenkrupp Presta Racing Day für beide Seiten ein Gewinn: „Die Studenten stellen auch unbequeme Fragen, sind neugierig und bringen uns so zum Nachdenken. Wir bekommen frischen Input“, sagt Pedro Malta de Jesus Veiga. Umgekehrt bekommen sie hier Tipps von erfahrenden Ingenieuren – und auch von einem der Juroren der Formula Student Racing-Serie, Carlo Miano. „Sie sind sehr interessiert und haben hier die tolle Möglichkeit, sich vor dem offiziellen Rennen mit mir und den anderen Teams auszutauschen“, erklärt der Experte.

Sieger im Zeitrennen freuen sich über 500 Schweizer Franken

Zum Abschluss des Tages können die Teams ein Zeitrennen gegeneinander fahren und so unter echten Bedingungen trainieren. Die Rennfahrer aus Graz setzen sich durch und ziehen ein rundum positives Fazit: „Das war die beste Vorbereitung. Danke für den super Tag!“ Dazu kommt noch ein Preisgeld von 500 Schweizer Franken.

So sehen Sieger aus: Für das Team der Technischen Universität Graz war es eine sehr erfolgreiche Vorbereitung auf die Wettbewerbe.So sehen Sieger aus: Für das Team der Technischen Universität Graz war es eine sehr erfolgreiche Vorbereitung auf die Wettbewerbe.

Vielleicht hat einer der Gewinner an diesem Tag auch einen entscheidenden Schritt in seine Zukunft gemacht. Selten ist das nicht: Im Schnitt erhalten 10 Formula Student Teammitglieder pro Jahr einen Arbeitsvertrag bei thyssenkrupp Presta. Rennwagen und thyssenkrupp – eine echte Erfolgsgeschichte

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Verwandte Artikel

Dana Evert ist Senior Vice President Human Resources für Nordamerika bei thyssenkrupp. Sie ist überzeugt, auch in der Personalarbeit gilt: Vielfalt ist der Schlüssel.
engineering together
Automotive-Sektor | Menschen bei thyssenkrupp | Vom Elektrotechnik-Kompetenzzentrum in Budapest zum nordamerikanischen "EPS" in Troy, Michigan: Imre Benyo hat sich wahrlich in Bewegung gesetzt und seine umfangreichen Fachkenntnisse im Bereich Maschinenbau und Elektrotechnik gut genutzt. Was er an seiner Arbeit am meisten mag? Die Vielseitigkeit der Aufgaben und die Freiheit bei ihrer Umsetzung.
together
Karriere bei thyssenkrupp | Menschen bei thyssenkrupp | „Endstation!“, heißt es für die Lenkwellen, wenn sie bei Sengül Pehlivanoglu angekommen sind. Die 28-Jährige arbeitet seit 4 Jahren bei thyssenkrupp in Liechtenstein in der Produktion und überprüft ein letztes Mal die Lenkwellen, bevor sie vom Hof rollen. 800 Stück in der Stunde.