The Future of Construction

With over 100 million cubic meters used each year, steel-reinforced concrete is the most important construction material in Germany – for now. There’s a modern alternative on the horizon: Instead of steel, reinforcement is provided by carbon fibers, which are four times lighter than steel, offer six times the load capacity and don’t rust.

C3 (Carbon Concrete Composite) is the name of the carbon fiber-reinforced concrete project which is now slowly moving out of its infancy. It is the biggest construction research project in Germany and has received government funding of around 45 million euros. The project team includes specialists from our TechCenter Carbon Composites. Christoph Klotzbach, head of the TechCenter, says: “Initial applications show we’re on the right track.”

But why does concrete need to be reinforced in the first place? Isn’t it rock hard as it is? That’s true – but only for so-called compressive loads. Under tensile loading the material breaks relatively quickly. That’s why concrete needs to be reinforced, achieved to date by casting it around a steel mesh.

The principle has been known since the 19th century, and since then steel-reinforced concrete has been used to construct roads, bridges, tunnels, buildings, masts, retaining walls, drains and much more besides. The problem is that steel rusts and needs to be encased in several centimeters of concrete just to prevent corrosion.

Non-rusting materials such as carbon don’t need this protection, so components can be made much thinner and require far less concrete. Carbon fiber-reinforced concrete thus offers advantages in terms of resource and energy consumption and carbon footprint that are virtually unrivaled by any other material in any other sector.

Building with carbon fiber-reinforced concrete not only extends the lifetime of the structures, it also allows more intricate architectural designs. This could significantly extend the range of applications for concrete. Lightweight building with concrete is no longer a contradiction in terms, it is the concept of the future.

Share article
Write a comment

*Required field

30 comments

  1. marcel engelhart | 18.02.2016

    very intersting. I would like some more information.

  2. pedro | 19.02.2016

    Are there standards for the sizing of members

  3. Ronaldo M Oliveira | 19.02.2016

    And about the price, is it lower than steel?
    Is it ecological correct?

Die Zukunft des Bauens

Urbanisierung | Carbonbeton: Harte Schale – leichter Kern

Stahlbeton ist mit über 100 Millionen verbauten Kubikmetern im Jahr der wichtigste Baustoff Deutschlands – bis jetzt. Am Horizont kündigt sich eine moderne Alternative an: Statt Stahl verstärken Kohlenstofffasern den Baustoff. Sie sind viermal leichter als Stahl, dabei sechsmal tragfähiger und sie rosten nicht.

C3 (Carbon Concrete Composite) heißt das Carbonbeton-Projekt, das nun langsam aus den Kinderschuhen kommt. Es ist das größte Bauforschungsprojekt in Deutschland und wird von der Bundesregierung mit rund 45 Millionen unterstützt. Mit dabei sind unsere Carbon-Spezialisten aus dem TechCenter Carbon Composites. TechCenter Leiter Christoph Klotzbach: „Erste Anwendungen zeigen: Wir sind auf dem richtigen Weg.“ Im TechCenter Carbon Composites läuft das Kohlenstofffaser-Know-how von thyssenkrupp zusammen und wird weiterentwickelt. Fünf unserer sechs Business Areas bieten Lösungen aus Kohlenstoffasern an.

Aber warum muss man Beton überhaupt verstärken? Ist der nicht sowieso schon steinhart? Das stimmt – aber nur für so genannte Druckbelastungen. Wird stattdessen an dem Material gezogen, geht es relativ schnell kaputt. Deshalb verstärkt man Beton, bislang mit einem eingegossenen Geflecht aus Stahl.

Das Prinzip kennt man schon seit dem 19. Jahrhundert. Seitdem baut man Straßen, Brücken, Tunnel, Gebäude, Masten, Stützwände, Abwasseranlagen und Vieles mehr aus stahlbewehrtem Beton. Der Nachteil: Stahl rostet und muss deswegen schon allein für den Korrosionsschutz mit mehreren Zentimetern Beton ummantelt werden.

Nicht rostende Materialien wie Carbon muss man nicht schützen, so dass die Dicke der Bauteile und damit die notwendige Betonmenge erheblich verringert werden können. Carbonbeton bringt daher viele Vorteile beim Ressourcen schonen, beim Energieverbrauch und  in der CO2-Bilanz. Die  kann man mit kaum einem anderen Material in kaum einer anderen Branche erreichen.

Und Bauen mit Carbonbeton verlängert nicht nur die Lebensdauer von Bauwerken, sondern ermöglicht auch eine filigranere Architektur. Das Anwendungsgebiet von Beton könnte damit deutlich ausgedehnt werden. Leicht bauen und Beton wird kein Widerspruch mehr sein, es ist das Konzept der Zukunft.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.