The disruptor

People at thyssenkrupp | The accomplishment Markus Jetter would never talk about? Revolutionizing an entire industry. To change the world of elevators forever, the engineer is working on the final details of a game-changing technology.

Markus Jetter wouldn’t say so, but he has made history. Or at least he has helped his employer thyssenkrupp make history. Jetter is head of product development in thyssenkrupp’s elevator division and part of the team that developed MULTI, the first rope-free, sideways moving elevator.

MULTI spells the end of the monopoly held by conventional elevators – 160 years after they were first invented. Using linear motor technology, it is now possible for the first time to operate cabs vertically and horizontally in the same shaft. This will enable architects to come up with more creative, taller and more user-friendly building designs. The first MULTI system will be installed in the planned East Side Tower in Berlin. “The MULTI project presents me with new challenges in all areas of my work as an engineer and a manager,” says Jetter. “New technologies, new methods and processes also call for a new way of thinking.” Mastering all this with an excellent and dynamic team of engineers was a fantastic experience.

Jetter’s work regularly takes him to another spectacular thyssenkrupp project: the test tower for elevator innovations in the southern German town of Rottweil. The spiraling fiber glass shell of the tower gives it a fascinating appearance, while the 12 elevator shafts in the interior allow elevator solutions of the future to be tested. Here, Jetter can do what he likes best: Researching and testing technologies and applications with his team of engineers. The latest project brings together MULTI and MAX. MAX is the first big data solution for the preventive maintenance of elevators. thyssenkrupp developed the system in teamwork with Microsoft. Sensors in the elevators send data to the cloud, where the remaining lifetime of key components and systems is calculated to determine where maintenance is required. Anything unusual is reported to service technicians so that problems can be eliminated before they occur. The aim is to reduce elevator downtimes by around 50 percent – and in so doing also reduce maintenance costs for customers.

Markus Jetter recognizes the potential of this development, in particular in combination with a product like MULTI: There’s no point getting machines to generate and process huge amounts of data if they do not form the basis for new insights, structures and business models. So Jetter and his team are working to use online data storage, connected machines and a new technology to develop a disruptive innovation that is exciting the entire sector.

Author

Victor Marcio Figueiredo Bicalho
  • written by Victor Marcio Figueiredo Bicalho
  • 4. January 2018

So, there is a new tecnologies in elevators.

Author

Ujjwäl Zamindar
  • written by Ujjwäl Zamindar
  • 5. January 2018

Salute to this Master-mind with an excellent and dynamic team of engineers

Author

Sedhu
  • written by Sedhu
  • 5. January 2018

Nice. Eager to see the real time working video of this new design. How about the cost differences. Is it cheaper or costlier?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Der Disruptor

Menschen bei thyssenkrupp | Was Markus Jetter bewegt? Eine ganze Branche. Um die Aufzugswelt zu revolutionieren, feilt der Ingenieur an letzten Details einer revolutionären Technologie.

Markus Jetter würde es so nicht sagen, aber: Er hat Geschichte geschrieben. Zumindest hat er mitgeholfen, dass sein Arbeitgeber thyssenkrupp Geschichte schreibt. Denn Jetter ist Leiter der Produktentwicklung in der Aufzugssparte von thyssenkrupp – und damit Teil des Teams, das den MULTI, den ersten seillosen und seitwärts fahrenden Aufzug, entworfen hat.

Der MULTI beendet die Monopolstellung des konventionellen Aufzugs – 160 Jahre nach dessen Erfindung. Linearmotortechnologie ermöglicht dem System erstmals, Kabinen im selben Aufzugschacht vertikal und horizontal zu betreiben. Architekten können so kreativer, höher und benutzerfreundlicher bauen. Der erste MULTI soll im geplanten East Side Tower in Berlin installiert werden. „Das Projekt MULTI“, sagt der Ingenieur, „fordert mich in allen Bereichen meines Berufs als Ingenieur und Führungskraft ganz neu heraus: Neue Technologien, neue Methoden und Prozesse, die auch ein neues Denken erfordern.“ All dies zusammen mit einem exzellenten und dynamischen Ingenieursteam zu meistern, sei eine großartige Erfahrung.

Regelmäßig führt Jetter die Arbeit zu einem weiteren spektakulären Projekt von thyssenkrupp: dem Testturm für Aufzugsinnovationen im süddeutschen Rottweil. Außen verleiht eine gewundene Glasfaserhülle dem 246 Meter hohen Gebäude eine Aufsehen erregende Optik, innen können in insgesamt zwölf Schächten Aufzugslösungen der Zukunft getestet werden. Hier kann Jetter das tun, was er liebt: Technologien und Anwendungen mit seinem Ingenieursteam erforschen und testen. Das neueste Vorhaben ist eine Art Kombination von MULTI und MAX. MAX ist die erste Big-Data-Lösung für die präventive Wartung von Aufzügen. thyssenkrupp hat das System gemeinsam mit Microsoft entwickelt. Sensoren in den Aufzügen senden Daten in die Cloud, wo dann die verbliebene Lebensdauer wichtiger Bauteile und Systeme berechnet wird, um festzustellen, welche Komponenten wartungsbedürftig sind. Auffälligkeiten werden Service-Technikern gemeldet, die so Probleme beheben können, bevor sie entstehen. So soll die Ausfallzeit von Aufzügen um rund 50 Prozent verringern werden – und damit auch die Wartungskosten der Kunden.

Markus Jetter weiß, welches Potenzial in dieser Entwicklung steckt, vor allem, wenn man sie mit einem Produkt wie dem MULTI kombiniert: Es reiche nicht aus, Maschinen riesige Datenmengen erzeugen und verarbeiten zu lassen, wenn diese nicht die Grundlage für neue Erkenntnisse, Strukturen und Geschäftsmodelle seien. Und so arbeiten Jetter und sein Team daran, aus Online-Datenspeichern, vernetzten Maschinen und einer neuen Technologie eine disruptive Innovation zu entwickeln, die eine ganze Branche in Bewegung bringt.

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.