Apprentices donate 100 hours of their time

Apprenticeship at thyssenkrupp | Apprentices from thyssenkrupp System Engineering in Bremen arranged language courses, game afternoons and much more for children at Schwanewede refugee shelter.

Rieke Raguse and Niklas Reher are currently hard at work revising. While 21-year-old Rieke is preparing for exams as part of her integrated Bachelor’s degree course in mechanical engineering, Niklas (25) is close to completing his industrial clerk apprenticeship.  But they both look back fondly on the eight weeks they spent at the Schwanewede refugee center near Bremen. Together with 24 other apprentices from thyssenkrupp System Engineering they supported refugees during their first encounters with German culture and the German language. They provided German lessons for seven to ten-year-old children and organized game afternoons – including badminton and soccer.

“It was a great time, the residents were really kind and friendly, and the kids were grateful to have something to do.”

Rieke Raguse and Niklas Reher

“How can we help?”

Rieke Raguse and Niklas Reher read in the paper that 1,200 new refugees had arrived at the former Lützow barracks in Schwanewede. They immediately organized a meeting of all apprentices. The question “How can we help?” didn’t take long to answer: There were already enough in-kind donations, so they decided to donate their time.

Coordinating the social engagement of 26 apprentices is a lot of work. Overall the thyssenkrupp apprentices donated 100 hours to this worthy cause. “Two or three apprentices spent time at the shelter every morning and afternoon,” says Rieke Raguse. “The atmosphere was really positive and welcoming right from the start.”

“We can only say thank you.”

The refugee shelter in Schwanewede is run by the German Red Cross (DRK). Bärbel Haase is the deputy head of the center and was delighted by the involvement of the thyssenkrupp apprentices: “It’s a good example of how young people can engage with refugees and give thought to the issue. We at the DRK can only say thank you for their fantastic efforts. Young people are our future, and this example gives us encouragement that refugees can be successfully integrated in our country.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Azubis spenden 100 Stunden

Ausbildung bei thyssenkrupp | Die Auszubildenden von thyssenkrupp System Engineering in Bremen veranstalteten Sprachkurse, Spielenachmittage und vieles mehr für Kinder in der Flüchtlingsnotunterkunft Schwanewede.

Rieke Raguse und Niklas Reher befinden sich gerade im Prüfungsstress. Während sich die 21jährige mit  Klausuren für ihr Duales Studium zum Bachelor of Engineering Mechanical herumschlägt, steht der 25jährige Niklas Reher kurz vor dem Abschluss seiner Ausbildung zum Industriekaufmann. Doch beide erinnern sich noch sehr gut an die acht Wochen in der Flüchtlingsunterkunft Schwanewede bei Bremen. Zusammen mit 24 weiteren Auszubildenden von thyssenkrupp System Engineering unterstützten sie Flüchtlinge bei ihren ersten Kontakten mit der deutschen Kultur und der deutschen Sprache. Sie organisierten für sieben bis zehnjährige Kinder Deutschunterricht und veranstalteten Spielenachmittage – auch Badminton und Fußball standen auf dem Plan.

„Es war eine tolle Zeit, die Bewohner waren sehr freundlich und liebenswert und die Kinder waren für jede Abwechslung dankbar.“

Rieke Raguse und Niklas Reher

„Wie können wir helfen?“

Rieke Raguse und Niklas Reher hatten aus der Zeitung erfahren, dass 1.200 neue Flüchtlinge in der ehemaligen Lützow-Kaserne in Schwanewede ankommen waren. Sofort riefen sie alle Azubis zusammen. Die Frage „Wie können wir helfen?“ war schnell beantwortet: Da es bereits genug Sachspenden gab, war persönlicher Einsatz gefragt.

Das soziale Engagement von 26 Auszubildenden zu koordinieren, macht eine Menge Arbeit. Insgesamt 100 Stunden engagierten sich die Auszubildenden von thyssenkrupp für den guten Zweck. „Zwei bis drei Azubis waren jeweils vormittags und nachmittags in der Notunterkunft“, erzählt Rieke Raguse. „Dabei war die Stimmung vor Ort vom ersten Moment an sehr positiv und einladend.“

„Wir können einfach nur Danke sagen.“

Die Flüchtlingsnotunterkunft Schwanewede wird vom Deutschen Roten Kreuz betrieben. Die stellvertretende Einrichtungsleiterin Bärbel Haase ist vom Engagement der thyssenkrupp Azubis begeistert: „Ein gutes Beispiel, wie junge Menschen sich auf die Arbeit mit Flüchtlingen einlassen und sich Gedanken machen. Wir vom DRK können einfach nur Danke für diese tolle Zusammenarbeit sagen. Junge Menschen sind unsere Zukunft und dieses Beispiel macht Mut, dass die Integration der Flüchtlinge in unserem Land gelingen kann.“

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.