Patricia Schiel

I enjoy combining creativity with economics – that’s why I studied journalism, public relations and management. As a communications trainee I like putting our world into words. That’s why I travel around the world for the engineered editorial team, collecting interesting stories about our company, our products and the people that live thyssenkrupp every day. To breathe new life into my mind I enjoy travelling along the British coast – my favourite place on earth.

Last articles by Patricia Schiel

In the factories of the future, man and robot will work even more closely together, on one and the same production line. But robots can present a danger to people and are therefore usually locked up. In its Florange steering factory, thyssenkrupp has freed one of its machines. And it’s not just the company that profits, but the workers, too.
The crankshafts in the Porsche 911 Carrera S, the steering column in Tesla’s Model X and the semi-active dampers in the BMW i8 have one thing in common: They are all made by thyssenkrupp. These are facts that even trade journalists don’t always know. So thyssenkrupp invited them to gain some high-speed insights.
Thanks to digital assistant systems, car drivers can just lean back and relax in more and more driving situations. Developers worldwide are currently even working on making the steering wheel obsolete altogether and turning the interior of the vehicle almost into a second living room. It may sound like science fiction, but at thyssenkrupp in Budapest, this is becoming science fact.
According to an old German saying, nothing is too difficult for an engineer. But how are engineers supposed to develop automotive parts when nobody knows what vehicles will be like in the future, what will power them, or who’ll be driving them? Innovation Manager Falk Heitling and his colleagues in the technology department have been searching for answers.
Engineering
Automotive-sector | Since 2015 the Deutsche Post DHL GROUP has been proving that e-mobility really is suitable for everyday use with its battery-powered “StreetScooters”. To get the CO2-free delivery vehicles fit for daily use on the roads, the logistics giant put its faith in two companies that at first glance could not be more different: a small start-up from Aachen and the global thyssenkrupp Group.

Patricia Schiel

Ich verbinde gerne Kreatives mit Wirtschaftsthemen – deswegen habe ich Journalismus und Public Relations sowie Management studiert. Als reisebegeisterte Kommunikationsvolontärin fasse ich unsere Welt gerne in Worte. Für die Engineered-Redaktion reise ich deswegen um die Welt und sammele interessante Geschichten über den Konzern, die Produkte und die Menschen, die thyssenkrupp jeden Tag leben.  Frischen Wind in meinen Kopf bringt die englische Küste – mein liebster Ort auf dieser Welt.

Die letzten Artikel von Patricia Schiel

In der Fabrik der Zukunft sollen Mensch und Roboter noch enger zusammenarbeiten – Seite an Seite, an ein und derselben Produktionslinie. Doch für den Menschen sind Roboter eine Gefahr – und werden deshalb meist eingesperrt. Im Lenkungswerk Florange hat thyssenkrupp eine der Maschinen befreit. Davon profitiert nicht nur das Unternehmen, sondern auch die Belegschaft.
Eines haben die Kurbelwellen im Porsche 911 Carrera S, die Lenksäule in Teslas Model X und die semiaktiven Dämpfer im BMW i8 gemeinsam: Alle stammen aus den Werken von thyssenkrupp. Fakten, die selbst Fachjournalisten oft nicht kennen. Deswegen hat thyssenkrupp sie eingeladen – rasend-schnelle Erkenntnisse inklusive.
Dank digitaler Assistenzsysteme können sich Autofahrer in immer mehr Fahrsituationen entspannt zurücklehnen. Inzwischen arbeiten Entwickler weltweit sogar daran, das Lenkrad in Zukunft gänzlich überflüssig zu machen – und damit die Fahrgastzelle in eine Art zweites Wohnzimmer zu verwandeln. Was sich nach Science-Fiction anhört, nimmt bei thyssenkrupp in Budapest ganz konkrete Form an.
„Dem Ingenieur ist nichts zu schwör“ hieß es lange Zeit. Aber wie soll ein Ingenieur Automobilkomponenten entwickeln, wenn noch niemand weiß, wie das Fahrzeug der Zukunft aussehen wird, womit es fahren soll und von wem es gelenkt werden wird? Innovationsmanager Falk Heitling und seine Kollegen aus der Technologiefunktion haben sich auf die Suche nach den Antworten auf diese Fragen gemacht.
Engineering
Automotive-Sektor | Seit 2015 beweist die Deutsche Post DHL GROUP, dass E-Mobilität und Alltagstauglichkeit sehr wohl vereinbar sind – ihre batteriebetriebenen Streetscooter machen’s möglich. Um die CO2-freien Zustellfahrzeuge fit für den täglichen Einsatz auf der Straße zu machen, vertraute der Logistikriese dabei zwei Unternehmen, die auf den ersten Blick unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten: einem kleinem Start-up aus Aachen und dem Weltkonzern thyssenkrupp.