Bernd Overmaat

Being Spokesman for Technology, Innovation & Sustainability I communicate what´s new and sustainable at ThyssenKrupp. A fun-job, obviously, in a diversified industrial company employing more than 3.100 researchers and developers. When I´m not dealing with innovative energy-storage, oxygen-depolarized cathodes or urban mobility concepts, I like Cool Jazz, Vintage Soul, riding my racing bike or going out with friends. Favourite football club: Cologne FC.

Last articles by Bernd Overmaat

engineering
energy concepts | future of production | Sustainability and climate protection | trends of technology | Sustainability – one of our main topics for many years. Climate protection plays a key role in this. For the third time in a row, the non-governmental agency CDP awarded us the highest rating and placed us on the "Climate A List" – an award for our climate protection. Therefore, it is only logical that we have set ourselves a particularly ambitious target for the future: be climate-neutral from 2050 onwards. We have summarized which technologies play a special role in this – and where we are today.
engineering
innovation | Sustainability and climate protection | #greenminded is when for the next generation of bio-fuels no more food ends up in the tank. With the BioTfuel project thyssenkrupp aims to achieve exactly that: instead of edible plants such as rapeseed or corn, natural biomass waste is used as a raw material. The next step is to bring the technology to market. The team is testing the technology in two new plants in France.
engineering together
Company | Digitalisation and industry 4.0 | Worth knowing | In January 2019, the German hacker "G0d" published sensitive data of about 1,000 politicians, journalists and celebrities on the net. However, his attack only resembles a skirmish one as compared to the challenges that thyssenkrupp's IT specialists have gone through – for example, when they fought back a large-scale hacker attack in 2016. What happened during the then secret project "White Amflora" – and how serious is the threat of spy hackers for industries today?
engineering
Sustainability and climate protection | trends of technology | Worth knowing | How will our water supply develop in the future? What are the driving trends of these developments? And which technologies could play a vital role in this? To answer these questions, our foresight experts look into an alternative future. This time we present our third possible scenario – a fictional future in which water privatization makes premium drinking water the privilege of high-income earners.
engineering
innovation | Sustainability and climate protection | trends of technology | Urbanization | Worth knowing | How will our water supply develop in the future? What are the driving trends of these developments? And which technologies could play a vital role in this? To answer these questions, our foresight experts look into an alternative future. In our second scenario, we tell you the story of a possible society where no one has to suffer thirst anymore – thanks to centrally organized water solidarity.

Bernd Overmaat

Als Spokesman Technology, Innovation & Sustainability kommuniziere ich, was neu und nachhaltig ist bei ThyssenKrupp. Klar, dass das Spaß macht bei einem diversifizierten Industriekonzern mit einer breiten Palette innovativer Technologien und mehr als 3.100 Forschern und Entwicklern. Was mir außer innovativen Energiespeichern, Sauerstoffverzehrkathoden und Urban Mobility Konzepten noch Spaß macht? Cool Jazz, Vintage Soul, Rennrad fahren und mit Freunden unterwegs sein. Fußball: 1. FC Köln.

Die letzten Artikel von Bernd Overmaat

engineering tomorrow
Innovationen | Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz | #greenminded ist, wenn für die nächste Generation der Bio-Kraftstoffe keine Lebensmittel mehr im Tank landen. Mit dem Projekt BioTfuel will thyssenkrupp genau das erreichen: Statt essbarer Pflanzen wie Raps oder Mais dienen natürliche Biomasse-Abfälle als Rohstoff. Der nächste Schritt: die Marktreife der Technologie. Dazu testet das Team die Technologie in zwei neuen Anlagen in Frankreich.
engineering together
Digitalisierung und Industrie 4.0 | Unternehmen | Wissenswertes | Der Hacker „G0d“ hat sensible Daten von rund 1.000 Politikern, Journalisten und Prominenten im Netz veröffentlicht. Sein Angriff ist jedoch nur ein Scharmützel gegenüber den Herausforderungen, welche die IT-Spezialisten von thyssenkrupp schon meistern mussten – zum Beispiel 2016, als sie einen großangelegten Hacker-Angriff zurückschlugen. Was geschah damals im Geheimprojekt „White Amflora“ – und wie ernst ist die Bedrohung durch Industrie-Hacking heute?
engineering tomorrow
Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz | Technologietrends | Wissenswertes | Wie kann sich die Wasserversorgung der Zukunft weiterentwickeln? Welche Trends treiben diese Entwicklungen? Und welche Technologien spielen dabei eine Rolle? Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, schauen unsere Foresight-Experten nach vorne und entwickeln alternative Zukünfte. Dieses mal stellen wir unser drittes mögliches Szenario vor – eine fiktive Zukunft, in der die Wasserprivatisierung Premium-Trinkwasser zum Privileg von Besserverdienern macht.
engineering tomorrow
Innovationen | Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz | Technologietrends | Urbanisierung | Wissenswertes | Wie kann sich die Wasserversorgung der Zukunft weiterentwickeln? Welche Trends treiben diese Entwicklungen? Und welche Technologien spielen dabei eine Rolle? Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, schauen unsere Foresight-Experten in eine alternative Zukunft. In unserem zweiten Szenario zeigen wir eine mögliche Gesellschaft, in der niemand auf der Erde mehr an Durst leiden muss – dank zentral organisierter Wasser-Solidarität.
engineering tomorrow
Energiekonzepte | Innovationen | Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz | Wissenswertes | Wie kann sich die Wasserversorgung der Zukunft weiterentwickeln? Welche Trends treiben diese Entwicklungen? Und welche Technologien spielen dabei eine Rolle? Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, schauen unsere Foresight-Experten in eine alternative Zukunft. Das erste mögliche Szenario: Eine Gesellschaft, die Wasser recycelt und ihr Gemüse selbst anbaut.