The new design: Elegant and sporty

mobility of the future | Introducing the thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser: Five months before the start of the World Solar Challenge in Australia, Bochum University and thyssenkrupp have now published the first picture of the brand new SolarCar.

It’s a proud sight to behold: Packed full of innovations and with a comfortable interior, it displays a classic yet sporty outline. Five months before the start of the World Solar Challenge in Australia, Bochum University and thyssenkrupp have now published the first picture of the thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser!

The latest solar-powered car to result from this development partnership is a four-seater sports coupé. It shows the best and most attractive side of e-mobility: not just rational and sustainable, but also a real treat for the eyes. For the first time, the body and interior were created by a design student from Folkwang University of the Arts in collaboration with budding engineers from Bochum University of Applied Sciences. Sustainability was a guiding principle behind the vehicle’s development, so leather and carbon have made way for natural fibers, and all other materials used, including steel, were put to the ecological test.

The thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser will be formally unveiled on July 5, 2017. Until then, you can find out more about the solar car and its functions here.

Das neue Design: elegant und sportlich

Mobilität der Zukunft | Der thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser stellt sich vor: Fünf Monate vor dem Start der World Solar Challenge in Australien veröffentlichen die Hochschule Bochum und thyssenkrupp das erste Bild vom neuen SolarCar.

Stolz kommt er daher, vollgepackt mit Innovationen und trotzdem im Inneren komfortabel. Seine elegante Silhouette überzeugt durch klassische und zugleich sportliche Formen. Fünf Monate vor dem Start der World Solar Challenge in Australien veröffentlichen die Hochschule Bochum und thyssenkrupp das erste Bild vom thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser!

Das jüngste Solarauto der beiden Kooperationspartner ist ein viersitziges Sportcoupé. Es zeigt Elektromobilität in ihrer besten und schönsten Form: nicht nur vernünftig und nachhaltig, sondern auch aufregend schön. Erstmals wurden Karosserie und Innenraum von einem Designstudenten der Folkwang Universität der Künste zusammen mit angehenden Ingenieuren der Hochschule Bochum gestaltet. Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit ist dabei Leitfaden der Fahrzeugentwicklung. So treten an die Stelle von Leder und Carbon Naturfasern. Auch alle anderen verwendeten Materialien wie Stahl kommen auf den ökologischen Prüfstand.

Am 5. Juli 2017 wird der thyssenkrupp blue.cruiser der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert und ab dann auch anfassbar sein. Bis dahin erfahren Sie hier mehr über das Sonnenauto und seine Funktionen.